Diets Sadden Me

14 Feb

Back update and I know health stuff can be tiring, but you have my word that I’ll keep it funny (I hope you think so!)   – Found the perfect surgeon – a woman, and she’s amazing.  I was in awe my last appointment as she used all the words regarding adult idiopathic scoliosis that I know so well.  I have found the ONE.   However, it isn’t all romance and kisses.  She looked at me and matter of factly stated – “Blah, blah, blah, probable surgery, 46 degrees…blah, and then looked me right in the eye and told me that I must lose 15 lbs.  Pardon?  I even looked behind me…but, she was talking to me.  “It will be good for your back and even better if we go forward with surgery…”   I heard many things my last appointment, but this one is sticking out like a fricking neon sign in the desert.   Doesn’t she realize that when my back feels like I’ve been shot by a 12-guage that I need a chili dog with cheese?   I need those crispy perfect little tater tots?  I hung my head. 

Life can be tough, but I have to suck it up.  It is ironic that the ONE thing (besides Main Squeeze) that brings me so much joy is being removed from the picture for quite some time.  You don’t understand, I love to eat badly.  I eat like a guy to the delight of most of my friends.   I try to like healthy stuff, but after 46 years…that probably ain’t gonna change.  Sigh. 

This weekend I attended a 3 year old’s birthday party.  It was so precious, but all I could think was “For the love of God, can’t some kid bring in a Happy Meal?”  I envisioned knocking them aside and stealing all the contents.  Hey, I’d give them the toy.   I push the ugliness aside and smile sweetly as I have yet another slice of cucumber and want to puke in my mouth.

Being a responsible grown up is hard sometimes, isn’t it?   I want to stamp my feet and cry til I get a tater tot!

23 Responses to “Diets Sadden Me”

  1. Tonja February 14, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Oh LD…I feel ya. Hang in there. Tell your doc your going to lose 20 pounds, just so you can eat all your tasty food and put five pounds back on!

  2. Cori February 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    I don’t know if I love your post or your mood indicator more! Either way, I am sending you all the support and encouragement I can along with a healthy dose of irritation that you can’t have comfort in the form of food too. Here’s wishing you get through this all with minimal discomfort and that there are mounds of tater tots waiting on the other side.

    • livingdilbert February 15, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      Sweet Heart of Gold…Ray of Sunshine….I appreciate you so much.

  3. shoutabyss February 14, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    15 pounds? Whaa. My doctor told me I had to lose an entire you. :)

    Like always you find the perfect picture. Love at first bite.

    Don’t call them “tater tots.” I think of them as Mexi Fries. That makes ‘em go down so much easier. Ole! And ketchup is a vegetable, is it not?

    I see you’ve been tweeting. How in the world did I miss those gems? Now that causes REAL back pain.

    • livingdilbert February 15, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      I’m so thankful that finally someone of your esteemed reputation liked my Newt tweet! I’m honored!

  4. Belle February 14, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Okay, I understand what a pain in the a** the diet can be, but since you’re between a rock and a hard place, put on your big girl britches and learn to like what you can’t change. You do NOT need a chili cheese dog or the fried ‘taters. You need foods that go crunch, and there’re out there. Yes, it sucks, but once you’ve met your goal, you CAN have the OCCASIONAL splurge and have the dreaded food of choice. C’mon, woman, you can do this! xoxoxox

    • livingdilbert February 15, 2012 at 11:57 am #

      I DO need them…..but, will be good to my body! You know as well as anyone that being a legal secretary for multiple lawyers compounds the need for naughty carbs! Staying strong AND down 6.

  5. Alchiketi February 14, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Every step you take, every move you make, every fries you taste, I’ll be watching you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzzjgBAaWZw&feature=relmfu

  6. notesfromrumbleycottage February 14, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    I agree with Bell, foods that have a natural crunch will help in the weightloss goal. But allow yourself to cheat once in a while. Nothing makes a diet unbearable more by completely taking away your favorite stress foods.

  7. jamieahughes February 14, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    I’m so glad you found a doctor who’s got the right idea for your treatment! I’ve been praying that you would finally get some resolution to this issue.

    Losing fifteen pounds isn’t horrid all things considered. I lost one hundred a few years ago, and while I’ve put some back on recently, I can say that it has done a lot for my health. I’ve discovered a ton of good stuff to eat that helps you get over the diet hump if you want some ideas!

  8. Jenni February 14, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Being an adult can really suck sometimes!

    Hey, I wanted to share with you that my hubs lost 30lbs by using MyFitnessPal.com. It’s free and it’s a food tracker like weight watchers. He also works out 3x a week.

    I’ve started using it and exercising 3x a week and I’ve lost 5 lbs in about 3 weeks. It was really shocking to find out how many calories were in a Taco Bell beef chalupa supreme (one of my favs!).

    Anyway, I thought I would lend my support! I really hope the surgery works :)
    Xo

    • livingdilbert February 15, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      OMG…I love Taco Bell. Sigh. I’m going to check out that site and thank you! I’m now down 6 lbs. and may even go for 7 whole minutes on the elliptical tonight. I’ll keep you posted. Always good to hear from you!

  9. thoughtsappear February 15, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Oh, Dilly…Can I call you “Dilly?”

    I hope the surgery makes you feel better. And if you lose 15 pounds, it just makes room for more food once you’re feeling better.

  10. cooper February 15, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    15 pounds? piece of cake. oh…sorry. Easy as pie. Damn. Ummm…go for it!

  11. Brea February 16, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    I’ve never actually dieted on purpose. But I have gone out of my way to eat things that aren’t good for me, just to prove I can do it!

    Actually, I’ve started just making my portions a little smaller, leaving off some of the “snacks” I used to rationalize myself into, and upped the amount of time I spend working out.

    I’ve dropped almost 2 whole pants sizes since last June, and I know I still have a ways to go to feel really healthy in my own skin. But I’ll get there.

    Notice I don’t ever actually mention a weight number? That’s because I haven’t weighed myself in over 10 years. I figure if the number makes me anxious, why deal with it? Deal with the clothing sizes and how I feel, and that should be good enough. I even stand on the scale in the doctor’s office BACKWARDS, and tell the staff not to tell me the number. They can write it on as many pieces of paper they want, but I don’t want to know what it is.

    I’ll keep you in my thoughts, and hope everything works out just like you want it to! GO YOU for the 7 pounds so far!

    • livingdilbert February 16, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      Thank you! This helps me and you are wise! (and not mean about trying to “low carb” it) You are doing awesome!!! I’ll keep you posted.

      I’m terrified about this surgery, so really want to make every effort to face it the healthiest way possible.

  12. Pkitass February 18, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    I hate diets…. I feel your pain and I’m sorry for the loss of your favorite foods. It’s a sad time when we can’t eat cupcakes without guilt.

  13. izziedarling February 19, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Fix that back and you can eat tater tots to the world looks level :)

  14. Laura Strickland February 19, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    So funny!

  15. messytessy February 22, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    hey dil,
    it always sucks to diet, but you may enjoy reading from the eat clean diet. i got in to it around the new year. the book is inspirational and does have some good principles. it wants you to eat 6 times a day, (but of course healthy stuff!). i found it motivational.
    take care!!

    • livingdilbert February 22, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      Thank you, Messy! May I call you Messy? It’s sure been hard not eating the bad stuff under high stress conditions of a law firm, but I’m doing it! You know, I actually have that book at home, maybe I’ll dust it off!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

