What Do You Mean You Want a Day Off?!

28 Mar

Why is it that when I ask for a day off, Bad Boss seems to think I am speaking Arabic?   “You want what?”  Yes, I know it is hard to comprehend, but I’m actually not an android programmed for your mere existence…to always be here, to stay one step ahead of you, to read your mind, to anticipate your every need, and to never fail you.   I am merely human.  Sometimes I have a life and therefore would like to take a day off for something you are not aware of – rest and relaxation, a/k/a enjoyment.  One time I asked a Bad Boss off for one mere day (it had been several months since my last day off) and he said “no” before I could finish my sentence – PARDON??   He told me I could not have the day off unless I could get our giant law firm to personally guarantee that they’d put a fill-in at my desk solely to answer his phone in case it rang.  I was so furious I went back to my desk and fought back tears.  Now, of course, I am more jaded and would not hesitate to begin plotting my revenge on his soul and how to ruin his law practice. Luckily for me and as predicted, he did that all on his own later.  The only people that even called that bastard were his father and whatever dates he hooked after trolling a dating service all day while at work.  

Bosses, give your hard working employees a day off sometimes.  I don’t mean the usual employees that take every day off they can possibly cram into a year without hesistation and then some…I mean the ones that really are there for you day in and day out over the years.  Don’t question them about why they need it off, don’t groan, don’t do loud sighs, don’t be a pouty baby about it the rest of the day – again, you are shouting to the world just what an ass you are.  Just give them a quick smile, say “no problem” and tell them to have a great day.  You’d be amazed at the work productivity and loyalty you’d get in return. 

Tomorrow – “Lawyer Pissing Contests”

5 Responses to “What Do You Mean You Want a Day Off?!”

  1. Office1 March 28, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    OK…he’s worse than any boss I’ve ever worked for AND that is saying something.

  2. Cori April 1, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Amen to this! Nothing makes me more upset- my old boss from many years ago used to act like she was doing me a HUGE favor by letting me use my vacation days. I hated it- so demeaning and made my morale plummet. I am happy to say I have a great boss now who not only says sure- just let me sign your request- but actually shows interest in my plans and tells me to enjoy my well deserved days. Well deserved?!? Now that ‘s what i am talking about!!!

  3. Danielle April 6, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Your blog is so funny, thanks to Cori I can now laugh every day. I used to work for a sole practioner and you are right Lawyers are the biggest jackasses alive. I love your picture as well. Thanks for some insightful, funny ass writing.

  4. letterstolife April 15, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    you NEED to get out!

  5. MB April 15, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    AMEN!

Leave a Reply

