You Want to Put What WHERE?

30 Mar

Explain to me how one can be in office space the size of Rhode Island…and, yet, Bad Boss still wants to put his damn files in my drawers? I occupy a very small portion of our 10,000 square feet office. I don’t ask for much! I came in the other day and Bad Boss had moved all the stuff out of the two filing cabinets behind me and put his files in there! Yes, I realize he is the boss, but really? Now I have a new partner telling me he is going to move my filing cabinet so he can put his filing cabinet there. It is the oddest power struggle I’ve ever seen…besides the window space battle. There is plenty of other space in the office!  Do they not want to walk more than 10 feet? Is this some lawyer/staff version of marking your territory and pissing on a tree?

I should have remembered, because he did that to me at the last law firm we were in together as well, but I must have blocked that memory. Isn’t it funny how you tend to remember the good things about a boss if you’ve ever followed him to a new position in a new firm? “Oh, that Bad Boss is really a Good Boss when you clear away the fluff!” “He is just very intense.” “He means well…” – well, guess what folks?  He is the same person that used to bug the living hell out of you when you worked for him previously! Don’t romanticize it! Nothing like getting to the new position and after a couple of weeks (when the honeymoon is over) having a dim wattage lightbulb go off in your head that says “Oh yeah, he IS a royal pain in the ass. What was I thinking??!”   I’ve got to go move some files….

Tomorrow – How to Fail in Business Without Even Trying

6 Responses to “You Want to Put What WHERE?”

  1. izziedarling March 30, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Put “New Job” at the top of your “to do” list. I’ve had a lot of jobs and the very worst one was at a law firm – meanies everywhere. And I had a vindictive she-wolf for a boss. EEEEWWWWW.

  2. Alice March 30, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    Or, you could move your desk to another part of the office and when they ask you why just tell them you thought they needed the space. Sounds like they are just trying to get the files near you so that when they need one, they don’t even have to get up – they’ll just intercom you. Lazy bastards.

  3. Office1 March 30, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    OK..so at least their way of marking territories is with files…I’m a little surprised these dudes have moved past actually peeing on things.

    Good lord….you don’t suppose they peed on the file cabinets do you?

  4. Cori April 1, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    This is so ridiculous! How about going into his office and putting your lipstick and other personal items in one of his drawers. What? You mind this? Sorry, I thought after you took over my file drawers that we had a new policy and could claim anyones drawers we wanted.

  5. letterstolife April 15, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    arrggghhh! OR in my case – give me a verrry long to-do list. then stop you from doing the list because they want to rearrange the office which means taking a good chunk of your personal and professional desk space. this new office look (which everyone of course thinks is great!) also forces you to take down the few personal pictures you have in the office aka your link to reality and happiness.

    glad i don’t work there anymore. i hope you get out soon, too!!

Leave a Reply

