IT Hilarities

7 Apr

I bet a lot of you have experienced people in your office that you wonder how they have ever mastered anything on a computer, much less anything with electricity.  I certainly have.

There are two lawyers and one coworker that seem to constantly find new ways to nearly make my head nearly spin off.  I’ve learned to just fix their problems with a smile and a nod and they think I’m a rock star.   How did I learn so much about IT…I think it has something to do with good ole natural selection.

* One partner approaches me every other month to tell me his printer has just plain stopped working – nothing, dead as a door nail.  I roll up my sleeves, ready to do a major repair and low and behold…it is turned off.  Yep, just turned off and it never occurs to him that there is such a simple fix as turning it back on.  I order him to leave his office while I work on it…turn it on and then tell him I’ve fixed it.

* One day, another partner was quite irate that he was not getting any emails – he shouts to me from his office (rather than ever use the phone) to email him to see if the email goes through.  I do ask he asks and he shouts, “I heard the email come in, but there is no email.  Something is really wrong!”   I tell him to move aside to let me look at it and I see he’s NOT IN HIS INBOX…he’s in some obtuse folder!   HELLO – must be in your inbox to see new emails!

* Another favorite is that everyone in the office seems to have appointed me The Master of the Electric Stapler.   One boss tells me all the time that it’s not working again.  I quietly get up from my desk, reload the empty stapler with staples and VIOLA…it is like having a brand new electic stapler in the office.  Ha, and to think…he went to Harvard and I merely went to a state school.

It is true what they say too….I’ve fixed tons of things by turning it off and then turning it on again.  All those IT guys at my big law firm weren’t just pulling my leg!

Fellow Office Administrators and Secretaries….you too, can be an IT mastermind, if you encounter some of these same highly-technical issues.

Tomorrow – Hey, Why Don’t You Just Pull This Out of Your Ass?!

6 Responses to “IT Hilarities”

  1. alchiketi April 7, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    OK…love the ‘leave your office while I fix it” trick. You’re sure to maintain the aura of “magic” while performing your sophisticated IT repairs.

  2. Alice April 7, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    This is hysterical. Reminds me of an audio clip I heard on the radio this morning. I’m sure you can figure out the point that I started laughing so hard I almost had to pull over… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BjSTTb_siCU

  3. Cori April 7, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    This is SO true! One of my coworkers thinks I am a miracle worker on her computer as well. The IT guy is just grateful to have 75% less calls from her since I can handle most of her “problems”. She NEVER did anything to make it happen- whatever it is- things are constantly changing/moving/disappearing and she has no idea what happened. half the time I reboot and the other half is trouble shooting that I think my 2 year old nephew could handle. It always gives me a good laugh and she thinks I am a rock star. I have learned from you to ask her to step out and let me work on it from now on so I can get credit for the reboots as well… 😉 Nice one!!

  4. livingdilbert April 7, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Kind Readers, glad I could help! Good to know my IT experiences have proved helpful! 🙂

  5. Jeff308M1 April 8, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    I have also been the local “go to” person for minor IT issues in a number of jobs over the years and have encountered many clueless coworkers, but none as clueless as the ones you work with. Of course, I have not worked with highly educated lawyers, either.

  6. Chasha April 15, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    My personal favorite is when they don’t have the fax machine plugged into the phone line and can’t figure out why it doesn’t work.

Leave a Reply

