MORE Telltale Signs of a Bad Boss

19 Apr

Bad Boss.

“Telltales Signs of a Bad Boss” was so popular and something everyone related to that I couldn’t resist sharing more curses from life in corporate hell.  If any of these are happening to you, it may be time to seek new employment.

* Bad Boss has a glass eye and gets so mad at you that they threaten to pluck it out and throw it at you. (This happened to Main Squeeze – still makes me laugh)

* Bad Boss doesn’t show up for work several days in a row with nary a word to you, their “right hand.”   When people ask you so many times where your boss is that you are ready to freak out, you merely shrug and say “beats the hell out of me” without one bit of guilt.

* Bad Boss makes you not only take their shoes to be shined, but also throws in their wife’s stinky-ass shoes as a bonus.

* Bad Boss goes to your favorite restaurant while making you work through lunch and then has the audacity to bring you his half-eaten leftovers and hands them to you like a gift.   For a split second you actually thought he bought you lunch…..

* He summons you into his office to to give you a complex assignment (and he does NOT give instructions well) and then yells at you when you start writing notes on how best to help him.  He screams angrily, “Do not take notes when I’m talking to you and look me in the eyes!”

* Bad Boss forgets to buy a present for his elderly father for Christmas, so he has you buy a tub of hard candy and FedEx them to his dad on December 23rd.  The overnight shipping is $76.00 (paid for by the firm).   The mints cost $1.56.

I got SO many great comments on Bad Bosses….it must be an unspoken epidemic.    

Tomorrow – The Stonger Sex?

14 Responses to “MORE Telltale Signs of a Bad Boss”

  1. alchiketi April 19, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    LD, Please tell me some of these are not true…that you’re just a wonderful story teller!

    Bringing you left over lunch! OMG!OMG!OMG!

    there has got to be a diagnosis for Bad Bosses and we need to pass a Subordinate Protection Act to protect us all from these crazies!

  2. Office1 April 19, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    How about a boss that is so dysfunctional and has no boundaries, she stalks you to your house at 10 pm one night because she thinks you’re on a date and she wants to catch you with that person (who happens to be her friend)

    Yep…it happened.

  3. Cori April 19, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    I am not sure which is my favorite- they are all SO scary and good. I think I will vote for- He screams angrily, “Do not take notes when I’m talking to you and look me in the eyes!”

    Ok, asshole.

  4. livingdilbert April 19, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    All of these stories are true! The lunch story…ah, yes, the leftovers consisted of a half eaten pork chop, which made it extra demeaning!

  5. kiki April 19, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    one boss I had had me pick up her dry cleaning and her children and then cook dinner for children since her nanny was on “vacation” (had to go home b/c her father died). what? nanny out of town? just use kiki as nanny since she’s an assistant – isn’t that included in her job description?

  6. grummelmaedchen April 19, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    I was a little in denial right after reading both of your “Telltale Signs…”, simply because I can’t (or maybe don’t want to) believe that this is really happening… 😀
    But it is, and all I want to do is to bang my head on my desk until it stops hurting — I’m in the middle of finishing my A-Levels (which means the only “bosses” I’ve had yet were my teachers (and a university professor)); so I’ve got Lovely Corporate Life still ahead of me. No matter what will ever happen to me ‘out there’, I’ll remember you and your tales (and try to run as soon as I spot such a pain in the arse in the upper ranks)!

    My favourite, btw: The one w/ the notes; some teachers are like Harry’s Sally, they want everything “on the side.” So, they give you fairly short assignments, but then come the extras. And you’re not allowed to take notes, they want you to listen, ’cause “otherwise you won’t get it right.” Problem is: when the extra items’ list is about two feet long, there’s no way to get it right without taking notes, since you’d have forgotten half of it even if you had the memory of an elephant.

  7. izziedarling April 19, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    Oh my, you make me laugh! How in the hell can you look him in the eyes when he only has one? Loser!

  8. Aki April 19, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    Absolutely hilarious! Thanks!
    Here’s mine to add on to the list:

    My boss was hosting this cocktail function some time ago. She wanted to scrimp n save on catering costs, hence she got me to order food for the exact number of guests. The morning before the function, she realized more guests were showing up. Panicking, she threw the entire problem to me, n expected me to miraculously whip up more food and she “don’t care what I had to do, she just won’t take no for an answer”. Thankfully for all the take-out restaurants around the office, I managed to amass enough additional food.

    Post event, I got another earful from her for over-spending on food and resulting in a lot of wastage because “usually at such events, only 80% of the guests who turn up will actually eat”.

    The boss is always right. If she is wrong, refer to the previous sentence.

    What crap!

  9. Mahlaqa Saeed April 20, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    omg! lol, ive been thru the taking notes situation…it gets worse….when you finally manage that “complex assignment” Bad Boss asks you to email him all the details. 2 months later you find out he asked your department head to the exact complex assignment and email it to him. God knows what Bad Boss did to those emails!

  10. Stacy April 23, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    My first boss was having an affair with his female partner while his divorce was still in process. He had me book them on a secret vacation to Mexico and lie about their whereabouts to everyone while they were gone. I accidentally didn’t upgrade them to first class so he screamed at me because they had to suffer by sitting in coach!

    His male partner couldn’t remember my name, and in a meeting once, poked me in the leg with the toe of his shoe to tell me to do something. The fourth partner at this firm had too many martinis at lunch and asked me to go home with him so we could go hot-tubbing (I declined).

    At my second job, one boss’ favorite saying was “Lunch is for wimps!” His partner once drew me a picture of the perfect employee. It was a stick figure with no mouth (so they couldn’t talk back), no crotch (so they wouldn’t need bathroom breaks) and six arms (so they could do a lot at one time).

    All true!

  11. D June 19, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    Bad boss yells and screams crazy wierd comments in front of customers. Bad Boss has you text random people personal details of a funeral on YOUR own cell phone even though YOU are unconfortable doing that. Bad boss never cares about employees but expects the world from them. Bad boss is normal one minute and another personality 10 minutes later. Bad boss is selfish and has a big ego. Bad boss makes you run personal errands on top of your real job. Bad Boss is Theodora Kooutsougeras

  12. abigal June 19, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    OMG the stories here are so sad. It seems to be that bosses feel they need to be jerks in order to be bosses which is so false. they need to be decent with there employees.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Favorites: Round 3 « Rainmakers and Stormchasers - April 23, 2010

    […] I do not suffer from having bad-boss syndrome, I know several of you do. This post (and its counterpart 2)  will give you the giggles and might even encourage you on a Friday that yes indeedy – if […]

  2. Friday Favorites: Round 3 | Rainmakers and Stormchasers - September 11, 2010

    […] Though I do not suffer from having bad-boss syndrome, I know several of you do. This post (and its counterpart 2) will give you the giggles and might even encourage you on a Friday that yes indeedy – if you […]

Leave a Reply

