The Stronger Sex?

20 Apr

In MY experience working with lawyers and other corporate types over the last twenty years, women are just stronger…rather, tougher than men!   When I say “tougher,” I am referring to how people behave while they are sick or in pain while at the office.   

Lord have mercy, men bosses are babies!!!   Living Dilbert hates a whiny boss.  One tiny runny nose or one muscle ache and you’d think their world was spinning towards its ultimate doom!   Bad Bosses are bad enough in their normal state, but give them a little cold and they are big, mean babies that want sympathy from you.  Uck.  The last person I want to be nice to is Bad Boss.   I’ve had my ass at work when my lungs are about to fall out due to bronchitis.   I’ve come in when my spine slipped down to around my knees…having to literally drag one of my legs down the hall because it hurt so much to walk.  Did I miss any work?   NO.   Do I ever miss work for an illness?  NO.  I’m just tough.  

I’ve seen male bosses totally incapacitated (or so they act) by an itchy eyelid.   Why don’t they stay HOME and not spread their stinky-ass boy germs around the office?   I’ve decided it’s because they crave attention and want to be babied.   From me, they will get neither and would be better off locking themselves in a  hermitically-sealed vault deep in Siberia.

Want a perfect example of how women are tougher than men?   I once had the most fantastic boss.  I would never, ever put her in the Bad Boss category.  She was a female partner among a sea of partners with penises and she was still NICE.   Already, she was amazing in my book for that reason alone.   While working late one night during her 9th month of pregnancy, her water broke while she was on an important conference call regarding a deal.  Did she say one word?  NO, she calmly finished the call and then mentioned that she may need to go ahead to the hospital.   She wins my award of toughest boss ever – tough, in a good way.

Male bosses who can’t handle being sick in the office?   Please do us all a huge favor and don’t come to work only to spread your misery.  We don’t want to hear it.  If you do come in while sick, pull up your damn pants, quit your crying, do your work and don’t bother us. 

Tomorrow – Bad Bosses Cause Carb Cravings

6 Responses to “The Stronger Sex?”

  1. shutterboo April 20, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    I’ve had very few male bosses. I think it’s my line of work; about 85% are women. But my Boss Lady (whom I love and still talk to though she abandoned me 8 months ago) got kidney stones. This lady still worked while she was in pain. I drove her to our Indiana office (100 miles away) for work one day (as she was doped up on paid meds). Boss Lady lasted longer than I did on that trip. She’s a trooper. And insane.

  2. livingdilbert April 20, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    See?? It’s true! Thanks for providing another GREAT example of the argument! I’ve head kidney stones are worse than childbirth. – LD

  3. Cori April 20, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Kidney stones and childbirth vs. pinkeye and runny nose?!? Wow- point WELL MADE. This was a great post LD! Amen sista!

  4. MB April 20, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    I went to work with a broken foot and my boss wanted me to still go out and get his lunch because he had a cold. Boo Hooo! Male lawyers are the biggest babies I’ve ever seen.

  5. The Orifice April 20, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    I have a boss that takes three hours of Mon, Wed and Fri to go to an Osteopath to get his “bad back” worked on. After a few months one wonders if the efforts are futile?

    What about my back? My spine is now compressed ive been “raped” that many times by him for such reasons as being late 10 minutes…

  6. The Ladies' Man April 21, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    A good boss, whether male or female, must never let the ball roll down the hill and affect the general population he or she oversees. As a “man boss,” I’ve had my share of really bad “women bosses” who were higher up in the ladder than myself 😉

    Very generally speaking, work is a place for just that — work. It’s not a place to complain, shift personal failures onto others (especially subordinates), or act unprofessionally. All people, regardless of their role or position, should conduct themselves with the highest level of professionalism. Such as, I’m here to work, not mingle and turn the office into a social setting.

    There are two types of people at work that I see:
    1.) Self-achievers who consistently return great results and have an awesome team-oriented attitude
    2.) Leeches who will put their hypochondriac problems on everyone else, steal credit, bring morale down, and will step on others in order to get ahead

    Everyone would be better served in the former category.

Leave a Reply

