Any Given Sunday

25 Apr

Although I may be suffering terribly from the Sunday blues, please know I still LOVE Sundays.  Any given Sunday will find me sleeping late, thanking God I’m not at work and resting my mind and body for the week ahead. 

What makes a perfect Sunday for me?  The things I dream about starting on Tuesdays?

 – Never getting dressed – an awesome day is when you don’t have to get dressed in outside clothes and you don’t have to shower!

– Speaking of not showering, even better is not leaving the house all day – don’t even open the front door!

– Lifetime movie marathon – purely to make fun of and predict the plots.  It’s great therapy, especially when you realize the plot situations are usually far worse than anything Bad Boss has thrown your way.

– Never eating a balanced meal – your main meal staple contains processed sugar, flour and chemical additives that you can’t even pronounce.

– Snuggling with your favorite furry pets or Main Squeeze all day.  The toughest decision to be made is who is going to get off the couch to make the popcorn.

I’m sure we all have our own ideas of a “perfect Sunday,” but the ones listed above are some of my ultimate favorites.   What are some of yours?  I’d love to hear them.

Tomorrow – 401(k)?  WHAT 401(k)?

11 Responses to “Any Given Sunday”

  1. digicollage April 25, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Warm donuts and hot coffee are musts! Never showering, never getting out of bed… oh, and a good book. 🙂 Have a great one!

  2. Office1 April 25, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    Sunday sweetness…laying on the couch with your main squeeze and watching an entire season of…

    The L Word
    The Tudors
    Weeds
    etc etc etc

    Before you know it…ten hours have gone by!

  3. Leslie April 25, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    OMG. I love making fun of Lifetime movies. Did you watch “7 Things to Do Before I Turn 30”? It was on this morning. Lifetime movies make me think I could be a screenwriter. Drivel! And when you recognize a well-know actor (starring in a new Lifetime movie) you realize just how far they have fallen 🙂

  4. gigi April 25, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Sunday Sweetness – popcorn and pizza (at work). Soon, very soon I hope, I’ll never have to work weekends again!

  5. Heidi April 25, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    Well, it’s in categories…..
    Non-football Sundays – if it’s sunny, working in the yard. I totally love it. Rainy Sundays – 80’s movies!!! Whatever channel I can find them.
    Football Sundays – lots of football and unfortunately lots of drinking.

  6. Sheryl April 25, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Your Sunday sounds suspiciously like my Saturday. Coffee with real cream is a must. Staying in bed till I can’t stand it anymore is high on the list. Mindless internet often makes the to do list, too.

  7. Leah April 25, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    My perfect Sunday includes hoping my toddler sleeps past 6:30 a.m. Pancake breakfast with toddler and husband. Cooking various items for the week. Reading a book. Catching up on TV. Afternoon walk with my dogs. Enjoying a yummy dinner and TV/movie with husband. That’s an ambitious Sunday, but a good one!

    • izziedarling April 26, 2010 at 8:48 am #

      Often I try to do that all weekend. Squeeze asked me, “Why do you watch all those horrible reality shows?” The answer is simple, “It makes me feel sooooooo good about myself!”

  8. MB April 26, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    The perfect Sunday is the ones that are followed by a Monday holiday and you don’t have to worry about going to the office the next day.

    • livingdilbert April 26, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

      MB, I love your comments. They ALWAYS make me smile. Thank you!

  9. Cori April 26, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Either staying in my pajamas all day and not opening the front door and not answering my phone OR

    Walking into Decatur for coffee and not answering my phone.

    Whatever I do, being unplugged is key. My friends who know me best wish me a Happy Cori Day and usually don’t bother calling since they know I am not even looking at my phone.

    That being said- yesterday I shopped for plants with a friend and then gardened all day. It was a perfectly acceptable exception and delightful day!!

Leave a Reply

