401(k)? What 401(k)?!!

26 Apr

I realize today’s post is a little rantish, but if I can’t share with you all….how can I stay calm, cool and collected?  I’ve been thinking about my job a lot more lately…and one thing that is really starting to bug the living crap out of me is the fact that my coworker and I have really pitiful benefits.  I use the term “benefits” lightly.  I guess if you consider being able to sit inside with air-conditioning all day and indoor plumbing as benefits, you’d be ok.   When I started at newly opened Passive-Aggressive & Angry, LLP, Bad Boss promised we’d soon get benefits.   HA!  It’s been three long years and I’m still waiting.  How could I be so dumb?   I would not be as disillusioned if he hadn’t promised all these things to help convince me to leave Old Law Firm.  We DID get health insurance a few months ago (with an extremely high deductible and no copays)…so that was a start, but I figured out we only get stuff when a Bad Boss needs it.   Our insurance came only because one partner’s COBRA ran out and he raised holy hell.  Bad Boss has no gonads and is afraid of him…thus, insurance.   The three conservative amigos said they wanted to “wait to see how the Obama thing played out,” so I guess we are lucky to have it at all.  Bad Boss is covered under his wife’s policy, so he doesn’t give a rat’s bung hole, yet he is in charge of signing on the dotted line for our benefits.  Same Bad Boss says vision and dental insurance are scams.  I’d forgotten… he’s also the insurance commissioner in his spare time.

The next two hurdles are 401(k) and disability and I’m tired of waiting.   The closest I’ve gotten to a 401(k) was the other day when one of Bad Bosses had the nerve to send me to his bank in the high-end financial district so that his contribution would be made by 4/15.   I sat listening at my desk in disbelief as his old jowls were jabbering about how he had to get his money in before tax day.  He knows we don’t have a 401(k) and I’ve asked about 1,001 times.   They don’t even offer gas money for personal errands.  Thank yous are about as rare as an albino gorilla living in the Sahara.

I’m tired of fooling myself into thinking “oh, they are getting to it…” NO, they aren’t.  They simply do not care.  One thing I’ve learned at this firm and I’m sure is true in most places – if it doesn’t affect them, they really don’t give a flying f**k.   Period.

Tomorrow – The Power of Accidental Eavesdropping

6 Responses to “401(k)? What 401(k)?!!”

  1. office1 April 26, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    I totally feel you. I worked for a lady who was suppose to be a feminist and a progressive. Yep…she had health insurance through her husband, so the rest of the poorly paid, overworked women who toiled at her “progressive feminist” agency…we got nothing. And a Board full of “progressive” activists did nothing for 17 years.

    Truly ridiculous.

    Let’s face it…privilege makes you blind.

  2. MB April 26, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    I worked at a firm where they promised to start a 401(k) plan for over 6 years. Of course they eventually got around to it after I left. Six years wasted ….

  3. Alice April 26, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    …”if it doesn’t affect them, they really don’t give a flying f**k.” AMEN! (Oh, and where did you find that picture of me? 😉

  4. Cori April 26, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    if it doesn’t affect them, they really don’t give a flying f**k… well said.

    Sad, but true…

  5. Cori April 26, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Also- I LOVE the picture!!

  6. Sherry Heyl April 27, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Great post and you capture the frustrations of so many people right now. Everything seems to be getting cut everywhere, or in your case – perpetually delayed.

    Sorry to hear you are going through this. It sounds like you will have to take care of your own benefits.

Leave a Reply

