My Life as a Meteorologist

28 Apr

I have always wondered what it’d be like to be a meteorologist.  Living Dilbert does love weather phenomena!  I have the weather on my phone, weather.com is a favorite and I get a little excited when we are going to have a big storm of any sort.   Of course, I don’t want anyone to get hurt…but it is just so exhilarating to see what will happen!   A big storm always makes me want to nest.  Picture me snuggled up and safe on the couch…at home.

Who ever knew I’d be an Office Administrator AND a Meteorologist all-in-one??  While sitting in my sad peninsula the other day between three weather phenomena of their own (Bad Boss, Bad Boss #2 and Bad Boss #3), I realized that I can predict the weather at the drop of a hat.  Careful weather predictions can save lives. Bad Boss often comes in sunny, but the barometric pressure can plummet with one ring of his phone and LOOK OUT…get under your desk….a tornado is coming!  I must work in Kansas because I’ve never seen tornados drop so quickly from the sky.   Perhaps I should plan an evacuation drill with my coworkers.  

Just as a tornado can suddenly appear, it can disappear.  The clouds can part and the sun is shining just as quickly.   It is scary most days.   Bad Boss can go rip-roaring through the office, spinning wildly out of control and then “blink” he can turn to you and is all sunny and happy, seemingly impervious to the fact that he just chewed you a new asshole.   Most days I don’t know whether to come to work with an umbrella, rain gear, galoshes (also good for wading through the every day sh*t) or would I be better off with suntan lotion?!   I’ve learned to bring all of them…each day, so I can be prepared.  Yep, that’s me, huddled at my desk….just waiting for the impending storm.

Tomorrow – “Gosh, that Number Seems Familiar….”

5 Responses to “My Life as a Meteorologist”

  1. Cori April 28, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Terrific post!!

    I have a picture in my head of the Meteorologists who are covering a storm and standing out in the middle of it while reporting on the weather. I think they would rather be subjected to Mother Nature’s storm than a sh*t storm from Bad Bosses.

  2. alchiketi April 28, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    🙂 weather forcast for me after i read Living Dilbert, always sunny and 70 degrees.

    that is before the bad boss squeaks past me.

  3. izziedarling April 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    As a meteorologist in your office, you might consider a concealed hand gun and/or an even number of happy pills to add to the coffee you have to fetch. Yikes! Stay dry!

  4. Amy April 28, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Watching a thunderstorm from my screened in porch is amazing!
    Watching a management sh*t storm from my cube is irritating.
    Duck and cover!

  5. bookjunkie May 15, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    I had a boss exactly like that – sunshine or the worst storm. Everyday my colleagues and I would ask each other “How’s the weather today?”

Leave a comment