Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Down

3 May

Guess I’m giving away my age a little bit, but I swear this song starts popping in my head by 5:00 on Sunday afternoons.   Plus, I think it is supposed to rain tomorrow, so it will be the perfect Monday morning…rainy, bad traffic and all will increase my bad attitude!   I’ll try to be nice and go into work with a good attitude, but whenever I try this it is usually over and done with in about 32 seconds from my arrival.   I’ll head to my chair…see something waiting for me there (like work) and viola…instant pissiness!   Another thing that causes an instant piss mood is a flashing message light.   My first thought again should be “oh, someone called me that may need my services…I wonder how I can help them?”  Unfortunately, my bad self usually thinks “Who the Fu** already called me this morning?  GD it!”   Are these the classic signs of burnout?   I think so.

Therefore, in an effort to pump myself up for Monday morning, I’ll try to go ahead and fill myself with good thoughts!  Maybe that will work!  Reasons to be “happy” on Monday morning….I’m employed, I’ll be out of the rain, no one is overtly trying to kill me, I thankfully have all of my limbs and my body seems to be in good working order, no one at work is too extremely unpleasant to look at….I have all kinds of reasons to be happy!   But, no matter how damn hard I try, I’m usually in that same bad mood within seconds of sitting down at my desk.   Am I a bad person?  Damn it!  Failed again!  Right back where I started.   Isn’t that the definition of insanity?

Tomorrow – Dumping Toxic Waste

7 Responses to “Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Down”

  1. MB May 3, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Oh, I remember how the Sunday afternoon depression would set in when I realized I was only hours away from having to see those miserable bastard lawyers again. It was my normal routine to have a good cry on Sunday afternoon just thinking about going back to work.

    No, you are not a bad person. Try to remember you’re a good person working in a bad place. Don’t let the bastards get you down. Only 39 hours and 39 minutes ’til next weekend. Hang in there.

  2. alchiketi May 3, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    you are a office manager cum meteorologist! Can you also look into your crystal ball and let me know what’s going on in my office? it’s 9:20 am and no one is in my office still. Is it possible that my prayers to the god of hell fury has finally come true? Do you suppose it is what i think it is? Should i stake a flag outside my bad boss’ office?

  3. Alice May 3, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    I give up on trying to solve work woes. Can someone just tell me how to get my umbrella folded up and in my car without getting soaking wet and defeating the purpose? UGh.

  4. Kimi May 3, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    I used to have a Snoopy cartoon hung above my office that depicted his moods for each day of the week and Monday he’s on the ground with little hope of rising up. Fortunately, as each day comes and goes finally before you know it Snoopy is ready to PARTY! as Friday hits. Glad you’re looking on the positive side of things. Hang in there as MB commented. The days are only temporary.

  5. izziedarling May 3, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    No, I believe it is the definition for being human.

  6. Cori May 4, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    I am just grateful to hear that no one is overtly trying to kill you. Still, it begs the question- Who is overly trying to kill you?? 🙂

    • Cori May 4, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

      I meant to say covertly trying to kill you… oh well!

Leave a Reply

