But, She Makes More Than Me….

6 May

I must need a Q-tip or something, because SURELY I didn’t hear that correctly.   Bad Boss actually said the above-referenced title to me in a recent conversation in which I was trying to complain about Useless Coworker.   He said, “she pretty much makes more than me, I don’t know why she doesn’t work harder.”   Pardon?   Let me tell you several reasons why this is more offensive than having to deal with his poopy butt on a daily basis:

** Bad Boss makes about…uh…at least five times her salary.

** Bad Boss is covered under his wife’s health insurance and doesn’t have to worry about any doctor’s bills like we do.

** Bad Boss drives a new Mercedes and lives in a giant mansion in a much-coveted part of town.

** Bad Boss pays for both of his kids to go to Ivy League schools.

** This is Bad Boss’ FIRM – don’t try to tell me an employee “makes more than he does.”

** Bad Boss does not seem to have much interest in sending out bills in a timely fashion or any form of collections.  “Clients” are catching on to it and not paying us.   Who’s fault is that?

Again, just typing such a ridiculous thing is making me splotchy.  It is insulting to me as someone who has a functioning brain.   Bad Boss has not given us raises in three+ years.   Is this his way of saying something so totally asinine to me that he thinks I won’t ask for a raise or that, heaven help me, I am supposed to feel sympathy for his ball-less ass?   I think not.  I guess I’m “ball-less” too because I chose not to punch him in the face.

Useless Coworker may usually be useless, but Bad Boss only has himself to blame.   He has never given her an offer letter spelling out her situation, he has never defined her vacation time, he has never disciplined her and he has never given her a review.   Hell, Useless Coworker may be the smartest one here.

Tomorrow – What Pure Determination Can Accomplish

12 Responses to “But, She Makes More Than Me….”

  1. office1 May 6, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    self-delusional bosses…oh my Living Dilbert…I could go on and on.

    Here’s some of my favorite forms:

    (1) Boss considers themselves to be beloved and revered by all of her staff when everyone would like to throw her out a window

    (2) Boss considers herself to be nearly a martyr status Christian woman…who regularly goes around saying racist, classist, homophobic, bigoted and just plain mean things to every member of her staff

    I could go on and on and on and on

  2. Alice May 6, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Oh yes, this reminds me of the staff meetings at old firm where we were told there would be more layoffs, no bonuses and no raises. But, we were supposed to be grateful to have a job and feel sorry for the partners that were going to have to take a 20% “cut” in salary… Hmm… so let me get this straight – they are going to make $420,000 instead of $500,000 – and you want me to feel SORRY for them. Shove it up your ass. Seriously. They spend more on dinner in a year than I make for a living.

  3. The Orifice May 6, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    What a f$cktard. Stab him with his letter opener after that comment.

    Another fine scribe from you LD!

  4. dennisfinocchiaro May 6, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Sounds like something from The Office!
    http://www.denwrites.com

  5. Amy May 6, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    Unbelievably frustrating! We had a partner send around an email to everyone that his beach condo in Florida was available to rent for a week if anyone was interested. Only $8,000 for seven days! In freakin’ Floriduh!
    Insulting! 99% of the employees here couldn’t even think about affording that.
    Oh, and your picture made me cringe! Is it puncturing the ear drum! Agh!

  6. alchiketi May 6, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    my bad bosses’ “austerity measure” is to put us on 20% furlough for eternity. mind you, this is a non-profit sector where the median salary is 32,500.
    But bad boss makes double that and she has a big firm partner for a husband.

  7. MB May 6, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I’ve learned that the most useless employees are usually the highest paid. It doesn’t do any good to go over and above and work like crazy because the only thing it does is get you more work. It’s frustrating to watch the slackers get away with coming in late, taking 3 hour lunches, leaving early, and disappearing into empty offices to make endless personal calls while I’m slaving away for their bosses because they have an emergency. I keep saying I’m going to be a slacker at my next job but I know I won’t be able to follow through with that. UUGHH! You know, it’s true that no good deed goes unpunished.

  8. Belle May 6, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    You’re not lacking balls, babe, you’re EXTREMELY well controlled not to punch him. It’s damn hard being rational in an irrational world.

  9. shoutabyss May 6, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    I loved the illustration for this post. Just looking at it makes me wince. The slogan for Q-tips is “a variety of uses” but their packaging is quick to point out “do not insert swab into ear canal.” No doubt for legal reasons. By my calculations 99.9% of swabs sold are used in the ear canal and, since perforation of the eardrum can kill you, they want to hype the myriad of other so-called “uses.” Wink, wink!

    We all know that effective bosses want to destroy their employees, and one of the best ways is propaganda. Good propaganda is a mix of truth and lies with just the ring of truth. (After all, if it was nothing but lies it would eventually stop working. You have to mix it up!) And I think we all know that propaganda works best on a captive audience, say, just like employees!

    There is so much good stuff in this post. I love it! ❤

    First, you say you complained about Useless Coworker. Bad Boss dared to reply, "But, she makes more than me." Umm, hello! How does that even begin to address the issue raised in the complaint! Completely non-responsive, move to strike!

    Second, like you correctly point out, the statement is also a bald-faced lie. Bosses often do things this, like starting staff meetings with statements like "I don't make money" and "I work for free" or "No bonuses because we're making less money than last year." (They always seem to forget that as the head of the IT Dept. I automatically by default have access to all the same financial reports they see so I know for a fact when they lie.)

    Why is it that employees often see the painfully obvious while bosses remain blind? It is all about the billing. If you're not going to make billing a priority then why bother? Is the whole endeavor a hobby? Each passing day you wait dramatically reduces the chances you'll ever be paid. In my particular case Bad Boss doesn't want to devote resources to pricing, so our web site routinely sells items for less than our actual cost. So an amazing number of our transactions are an immediate net loss. He doesn’t see the need to have employees waste time on things like that. Brilliant!

    Bad Bosses don’t give performance reviews. Two of us have been with our company five years and have yet to see one. In five years we’ve had one raise, a mere pittance that was more of an insult than any real economic benefit. I am convinced that when adjusted for inflation we both make less now that we did the day we started.

    I apologize for the minor jack Q-tip jack and the “hey look at me” comments. This is supposed to be about your Bad Boss. I hope you don’t mind getting our stories in response sometimes. 🙂

  10. Kimi May 6, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Unbelievable.

  11. Cori May 7, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    Wow- this has to make the top Ten list of most f&*%ked up comments he has made!

Leave a Reply

