What Pure Determination Can Accomplish

7 May

It has been a very tough few weeks and I mean TOUGH.   Here I am, five days a week with Bad Boss(es) and yet I took on an amazing challenge.   I decided to join a weight-loss contest with some former coworkers.  We’ve done it before and it appears the only way I can lose weight (if needed) is to be dared to compete by Big Brother or be offered cash money.   This contest is the latter.   You KNOW how Bad Boss causes carb cravings.   Yell=Doughnut, Yell=Pizza, Yell=Fried Anything.   Him being a a big terd makes me need all the things above 22 hours a day.   Yet, I’ve resisted!  Can you believe it?  Even my own body is in shock.   My body thinks I’ve abandoned my love for it.   I’ve been eating so healthy that it hurts.   I cry daily for all the bad (but, oh so good) stuff, but I continue to resist.   Can’t even watch one of my favorite things either – Food Network, because my stomach starts to audibly growl.   Ok, I’ve lost…..ready?……15 pounds!   Who thought one could do such a thing with will-power alone?!   I hate exercise…despise it, so I haven’t really done any, but to beat the other chick in the lead I may have to make an exception.  We’ve got two weeks to go (out of 10).  Plus, if the truth be known, I think Bad Boss is jealous. I can tell he’s had to battle the buldge in the past and he’s pretty sensitive about how he looks.   This is all Living Dilbert needs to fuel her fire!   Just to get under his skin!   Yay!

Every night when I fall asleep I have visions of food dancing in my head.  I know that I happily and knowingly use food as some type of emotional crutch, but you only live once!   My friends know that I can do some eating…and how I love it so!   Next lifetime, I’d like to be a person who is either a restaurant critic or someone that just drives around the country trying roadside places and then writing about them.  What a life!   Being paid to eat!   If I was a man, I’d even consider being on the competitive eating circuit.  

It makes you think.  What can you really DO if you set your mind to something?   You can do anything.

4 Responses to “What Pure Determination Can Accomplish”

  1. izziedarling May 7, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    AMEN to your last line and you go, girl re: weight loss. Yay you!

  2. Cori May 7, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Go LD!! Congrats!! Making Bad Boss jealous is icing on the, ah, uh, celery? 😉

  3. shoutabyss May 9, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Is “terd” the English spelling? Are you across the pond? 🙂

    I blame my boss for a lot of things, but so far, never my eating habits. I’m going to have to ponder that to see if there is any way I can pin that on him, too. 🙂

    Good luck on your challenge!

  4. thoughtsappear May 18, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Congratulations on the weight loss. =) Please post your diet tricks ASAP (after some apple pie)!

Leave a Reply

