Saturday Morning Cartoons and Superheroes

8 May

The oddest things pop into my head when I am feeling overly stressed.   Sometimes it is just a glimpse of my former life when I was young and happy.  When I say “young”…I mean a child, before life starts to happen and clouds our perspective.   Remember?  Back then, it only took the little things to make me so happy – like Saturday morning cartoons!   I remember when they used to have entire preview shows of the upcoming cartoons…I’d live for those previews.   My favorite cartoons were the superhero cartoons – Justice League with Superman and Aquaman, before the stupid Wonder Twins came along and ruined their credibility.   Just thinking of those two twins makes me grit my teeth!   Anyway, beginning today…I think I’ll try a few Saturday blogs based on superheroes and I don’t even care if it is nerdy.  Superheroes can come in so many different sizes and shapes!

I’m not super young, but not super old either and I still want to be Superman.  When Bad Boss bugs me, I’d give him a little hot laser ray on his behind.  While driving to work and being stuck behind someone going slowly in the left lane whilst talking on their cell phone, I’d fly their butts up to the top of  the largest building I could find and leave them there….with a confident word of advice on how next time perhaps they’d think of others and kindly drive in the right lane.   Can you even imagine all the things you DO with supersonic speed, the ability to fly, unmeasurable strength and an injury-proof exterior?!  I’m nearly giddy in daydream land just thinking about it.

Since it looks like I can’t be Superman in this lifetime, I have to find other ways to help.  My main passion is helping animals because they don’t talk back, are not rude and they love you unconditionally.  This weekend, I’ll lend my volunteer hand to a big animal-rescue festival and it will be so great being a little bit of a superhero to those babies.  Want to be a superhero too?    Volunteering is an amazing way to do so!   Whether you have 30 minutes or an hour, wherever your talents may lie, I can tell you that someone or something out there in the big, blue world needs you!

Tomorrow – I Miss My Mom

6 Responses to “Saturday Morning Cartoons and Superheroes”

  1. shoutabyss May 9, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    I also watched those cartoons, including Justice League et all. Aquaman seemed much, much cooler when I was younger. But if I really think about it, being able to talk to animals really would be a cool super power.

    I often wonder what I’d wish for if I was granted one wish. Usually it’s a super power along the lines of the ability to read minds. (I’m not quite as greedy as you to actually desire Superman’s powers.) I think if you could read minds you’d eventually end up ruling the world and that doesn’t sound so bad.

    A close second would be the ability to sing any way I wanted. 🙂

    But yeah, helping animals is a pretty awesome super power, too.

    By the way, how do you always know your next blog post title in advance? Being that organized must be another super power of yours! 🙂

    • perpetuallypeeved May 10, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      Me, personally, I always wanted to be She-Ra. I mean, hello, she is the “princess of power” – and she has a talking pegasus unicorn. What’s cooler than that?

    • livingdilbert May 11, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

      Check out my new “FAQs” section (and Cast of Characters). You brought up a good question.

  2. Cori May 10, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    I also watched and loved the Justice League- good memories.

    What i got out of this blog even more was your reminder about the importance of volunteering. I am always surprised by how many wonderful friends are not interested in volunteering. Especially ones with children where they should be setting an example and training their kids to give back. That is how I learned about volunteering- from doing it with my family when I was younger and watching my parents volunteering throughout my life and up to this day.

    It is not supposed to be optional- it is a responsibility!

  3. vongaynip May 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I have to agree, I would want to be She-Ra too! Princess of Power, a big gay unicorn and her parents live on another planet and never visit. Tell me that isn’t kick ass?

  4. dcbarry May 17, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Agree with your comments about those inane Wonder Twins: “Form of a Buzz Kill”.

Leave a Reply

