When a Raise is Not a Raise…

14 May

Doesn’t the mere title just sound stupid?  Yet, it has just happened to me.  Bad Boss actually told me he was taking something away…but, mind you, he was giving me a whopping 2% raise.  I’ve not had a raise in 2 years.   The thing he took away gave me more money per month than the raise…so, now I’m down $100+ a paycheck and he sits and smiles to himself that he gave little Living Dilbert a raise.   Oh, I know…you all shout, “Quit, Living Dilbert, quit!,” but it is not that easy.   The job market is still not an generous place to navigate right now, so I will bide my time….and plan Bad Boss’ demise.  Oh, I’ll find a way alright.  To say I’m disappointed in him would be a gross understatement, yet I’m asking myself at the same time why am I acting surprised?   He’s cheap and he’s thoughtless.  He likes to try to spin things to appear as if he is doing me a favor – always.   I should have KNOWN better.   Maybe hope springs eternal.  I’m not sure, but he’s done it to me for the last time.   I’m worth a lot more than he can imagine in his little calculating brain.

I am becoming something that I didn’t think I had in my psyche – vindictive.   I’ve always thought that word sounded so ugly and could never be a “good” thing, but I’m starting to think that it is not a bad choice of coping mechanisms for me at this present time.  I can find the most insignificant little ways to make his life miserable and I plan on invoking them immediately.   He thinks he can outsmart me because he has a schlong?   I think not.   I have a lot more on my side – I am now a woman scorned and I have a score to settle.  Do NOT mess with my effing paycheck.  You have crossed the line.   Why do Bad Boss people who have a good thing have to go and screw it up?

Bad Boss, do not be cheap with me – it is not going to bode well for you in the long run.  Trust me on this.

Tomorrow – The Power of a Smile (and How Bad Bosses Just Don’t Get It)

16 Responses to “When a Raise is Not a Raise…”

  1. Office1 May 14, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Go Living Dilbert go!!!! And if you ever feel the slightest twinge of guilt…look at your pay stub again.

    Only the dumbest rock can think he’s been generous when your actual paycheck shrinks. He deserves no mercy.

  2. perpetuallypeeved May 14, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Please, please let us know what you do. What a shmuck!

  3. bookjunkie May 14, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    I can totally relate to the vindictiveness….(his horrible manipulative behavior brought it out in sweet you). I’ve been there too and I am totally rooting for you all the way!!! 🙂 Can’t wait till Bad Boss gets what he deserves. Reading your blog is the greatest therapy for me 🙂

  4. Amy May 14, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    I love a good smack-down! You definitely have to post a play by play. Get ’em!!

  5. MB May 14, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    Bad bosses never appreciate the people who work the hardest and make their lives easier. Keep in mind that karma will someday come around and bite them in the a$$.

    The last raise I got was miniscule and didn’t make up for the fact they were taking away our 401(k) match money. When I crunched the numbers it was a cut but they felt like Santa Clause giving raises when lots of other firms weren’t. Bastards!

    Hey, it’s FRIDAY!!! Only 7 hours and 48 minutes to go. Enjoy your two days of freedom and have a great weekend!

  6. alchiketi May 14, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    I’m running out to go buy pop n popcorn. this is going to be too good to miss.

    • livingdilbert May 14, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      I’m going to use one Big Brother mentioned very soon. I’m going to reset his time behind about 45 minutes on his computer. Just the little things at first, alchiketi…

  7. Sis the Eldest May 14, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Oh, LD, I once had a husband who sounds like a twin to Bad Boss. Try working and being married to such a black hole of misery. Self-preservation kicked in long before the end actually arrived. There IS something so satisfying in sitting back and watching BB slowly hang himself. 😉 I’ll take a bag of that popcorn, alchiketi!

  8. shoutabyss May 14, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    A two-percent raise after two years can only be interpreted one way: it’s a whopping insult. Bad Boss might actually feel like he’s given you a raise, but it’s also possible he knows exactly what he’s doing. It might be an alpha wolf “show me your neck” kind of thing.

    Regardless of the other mysterious reduction he made to your check (I’m assuming it’s some sort of allowance or differential that you no longer get) a two-percent raise after two years means you have less buying power today than you did two years ago.

    I know for a fact that after working my way up the ladder in my current position for five freakin’ years I make less in adjusted dollars today than the day I was hired. The local high school recently ran an ad for janitors and the low side of the pay scale was higher than what I currently make. Now THAT is depressing. A janitor’s starting pay is higher than my professional skills after five years on the job. 😦

    I totally empathize with the comment about how hard it is to find a new job. It’s just not that easy where I happen to live. I grudgingly admit that reinforces the position of my boss that my job is a “gold nugget” and I’m oh-so-lucky to even be here. /hurl

    Like you the situation is slowly pushing me towards the dark side. I’m only human.

  9. slightlyignorant May 14, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Yeah, of course it’s just easy to say that you’ll quit, but of course we all know it’s not. I DO, however, support your vindictive impulses – very good emotional mechanism.

    Indulge in fantasies of ripping off his toenails, scratching his arms up and town… Putting him in an Iron Maiden or something…

  10. slightlyignorant May 14, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Yeah, of course it’s just easy to say that you’ll quit, but of course we all know it’s not. I DO, however, support your vindictive impulses – very good emotional mechanism.

    Indulge in fantasies of ripping off his toenails, scratching his arms up and down… Putting him in an Iron Maiden or something…

  11. Bitten by Reality May 14, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    As was in my case, the evil I knew was better than that I didn’t know. And that was precisely why I didn’t quit. And now, I watch (from the laid-off, unemployed distance) as the “brilliant” decisions have come to haunt my “bad boss.” And you know what? It feels good! One day, BB will realize he should have been much better to you (and probably the world). In the meantime, take your satisfaction where you can get it. 🙂

  12. Pop May 14, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    “He thinks he can outsmart me because he has a schlong?”

    Typically, a schlong–or in bad boss’ case, a schlort–impedes intelligent thought.

  13. sethe May 14, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    oh! i’ve met a lot of bad bosses in the last 2 years.. believe it or not, you’re still kinda nice that way to still work for the bad boss… c”,) hugs!!! that’s all i can say (since I can’t really do it!)… ONE DAY.. that bad boss will realize your worth c”,)

  14. cooper May 14, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    there is also the useful flipping his screen upside down utility. I know there’s a version that can be run over a network so his screen can be flipped remotely…like when he’s on a conference call…

  15. Jay-Jay May 14, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    “A woman scorned with a score to settle”

    Yikes…

    If I didn’t think the fucker deserves every bit of what’s headed his way (From reading through your blog, I’ve come to the conclusion that to call him ‘Bad’ Boss is doing him a service)I’d feel sorry for him right about now.

    A meagre 2%? Ha, think yourself lucky. Where I work we got a letter detailing the reason why we wouldn’t be getting a pay-rise.

Leave a Reply

