Taking Back Sunday

16 May

I’ve spent a couple of posts on how much I DREAD Mondays and this intense dread usually begins on Sunday almost as soon as I wake up.  I’m going to try something a little new.  Maybe I can try to enjoy all of Sunday up until the time I fall asleep on Sunday night and leave the dread for Monday…until Monday morning.   Dealing with Bad Boss is fricking bad enough five days a week, why give him any part of my weekend?!   Screw him!  I’m taking back my Sunday!  I’m going to try it…starting today…and fully enjoy my Sundays.  I’ll let you know.  

I hope all of you have a wonderful Sunday too!   Enjoy it while you can!

Tomorrow – Don’t Bite the Hand That Feeds You

16 Responses to “Taking Back Sunday”

  1. bookjunkie May 16, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    I used to love Fridays and Saturday mornings but the dread started on saturday night and by Sunday I was in hell. I tried so hard not to think about work but somehow it the anxiety creeped in. I am so rooting for you to take back your Sunday. Hope you have a fabulous day 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about your day!

  2. grummelmaedchen May 16, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Have a beautiful Sunday! 🙂

  3. notesfromrumbleycottage May 16, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    You start doing that now. When I had bad boss in my life, Sunday became work in the garden day or go for a hike with the kids day so I could work off that bad energy. Who needs the boss’ crap hanging on you on your time away from them. So do what you really love to do on that day away.

  4. redriverpak May 16, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Good for you! Have a great day!

  5. IntrigueMe May 16, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    You go girl! Sundays are for relaxation, gotta soak it in while you can!

  6. alchiketi May 17, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    in the unlikely event that you can’t relax 2 buck chucks are only 2 bucks.

  7. shoutabyss May 17, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Once again the similarities scare me. I call Sunday the day of “tainted time” due to its proximity to Monday.

    Most days I wake up in a remarkably good mood. Then, like this morning, as I make final preparations to leave the house I tank. By the time I get in the car I am foul. This morning I drove just three houses down the street to the first stop sign which is usually deserted. Not this time. Five seconds into my commute and I’m already bumping into idiots. The guy was facing in my direction and giving up his right of way with a friendly wave. I threw daggers at him with my eyes as I proceeded cautiously on my way. (I don’t trust morons who give up their right of way.)

    My commute is only two miles long and by the time I got to work I felt like I could literally cry. I walked into the office blinking my eyes hard and was hit the the usual friendly refrain of “morning!” and “morning!” from every direction. (We don’t use the word “good” around here.) At that point I could only respond with grunts.

    Work sucks.

  8. Jay-Jay May 17, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    How I envy you guys.

    I’m a Chef, so the traditional weekend off doesn’t apply to me – I’m afforded the luxury of arbitrary days off scattered about from week to week.

    • Jay-Jay May 17, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

      Oh, and it’s my pleasure to put you over the 10,000 mark – richly deserved!

  9. Cymbria May 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    You know that song… “Everybody’s workin’ for the weekend…”?? I remember hearing it on the radio as a kid, and just kind of laughing it off. “Me? Work five days to live two? Never!”

    The math was all wrong. I thought the ‘real world’ was just another sick adult exaggeration, like ‘high school’s the best time of your life’. Well, here we all are… livin’ the dream ~sigh~. At least we still have those gloriously blissful few moments between 5pm Friday and… (oh who am I kidding!) …5:01~

    ps. Love your writing LivingDilbert!

  10. inkpuddle May 17, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Here, LD – just for everyone whose Monday-hating begins on Sundays. 🙂

    http://tiny.cc/s5enr

    • livingdilbert May 17, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

      PRICELESS! I love it!!! Ha hahahahaa ha!!!

    • shoutabyss May 18, 2010 at 9:35 am #

      I clicked the link and saw “Hallmark” and rolled my eyes. But I kept watching and now I can say, “I’m glad I watched that!”

      🙂

      “I don’t care Fridays.” LOL!

      I can honestly say this video saved me a trip to my doctor.

  11. skillets May 19, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    I’ve always thought it was ridiculous how people look forward to their weekend allll week, and with those precious two days, spend one of them dreading the next week. It makes no sense! You waited all week for Sunday…fucking enjoy it!!

  12. Hardly Working May 20, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    The dread of Monday come close to ruining a good Sunday.

Leave a Reply

