If It’s Tuesday, It Must Be….

1 Jun

Hell, I wish I could say the answer was “Belgium” but…afraid not.   Does anyone remember that old movie?  I’m afraid it is back to the damn grind…with Bad Boss.  It seems like I’ve been gone forever and technically I only took two days off to see Big Brother!  I fully expect him to say, “How was your vacation?” and I will clearly point out that it was only two days off…NOT a real vacation! 

To say I’m dreading Tuesday would be a bit of an understatement.  I’m downright depressed.  I’ve been trying to figure out my anxiety all day and I think it is merely the fact I have to return to the drudge tomorrow!  I’ve got to figure something out.  I’ve worked too hard to feel such dread.  I’d rather have a pap smear….perhaps even a colonoscopy…even though I’m not the age level where you are urged to have one.  A colonoscopy is one of my biggest fears.  I’m hoping they will develop that little camera I can swallow before I’m 50. 

Anxious thoughts are running through my mind, “What will Bad Boss find that I didn’t do while I was gone?  What will he blame me for?  EGADS, I have to see and try to smile at Useless Coworker.”   Ok, deep breaths….breathe.   I’m dying from the inside out!

Forgive me.  I’ll be back to my relentless sarcasm tomorrow.  I’m simply in shock.  To all of you that are returning to your first day of work after a long weekend, you have my sincere condolences.   We’ll get through this together.  Right?

Tomorrow – What the %#!)&$#??!!

19 Responses to “If It’s Tuesday, It Must Be….”

  1. The Orifice June 1, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    We’ll get through this LD. I hear you on Anxiety. I get it too. Orifice workers in arms!

  2. bookjunkie June 1, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I forward your posts to my partner because he can relate to so much to it. You are really helping people out here LD. You’re like a free counseller. Sometimes its hard to articulate how you feel and it’s comforting to have someone who understands. Since I quit my job I have a new set of anxiety, but at least it’s not the intense fear I suffered at work. The fear was the worse thing ever.

  3. thoughtsappear June 1, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Ugh…I thought today wouldn’t be bad because we skipped Monday. Not so, not so at all.

    A colonoscopy used to be one of my biggest fears as well until about a month ago. Not anymore! Now I have nothing but good things to say about it. I lost like 6 pounds, the 30 to 45-minute procedure I have no recollection of, and the drugs were soooo good.

  4. Office1 June 1, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    LD…just remember, they give lots of anesthesia for colonoscopies now…that makes them way better than Mondays (or tuesdays) at work.

  5. Amy June 1, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    You will never have to suffer alone. I feel your pain.
    Sometimes it’s worse having a Monday holiday cause people (not me, mind you) feel like they have to cram two days worth of work into Tuesday. I want to yell, “Every one had yesterday off work. There is nothing to catch up from. Calm the frick down!”

  6. shoutabyss June 1, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    I feel your pain! A three day weekend, for me, is truly a very rare thing. Yes, the holiday is unpaid in spite of what the employee handbook says so my paycheck will take a significant hit. But I’ll take an unpaid day off any chance I can get. Every extra day away from work is living-giving nirvana.

    Today is Day #1 of an eight-week period of tumultuous turmoil at my place of work. Our office manager is going away for three months and the owners (the bane of my existence) have decided that they (husband and wife) are going to personally come in and fill-in for the manager rather than hiring a temporary replacement.

    The Plan is that the rest of the team is going to split up the bulk of the manager’s duties and the owners will cover the “top secret” stuff and also some of the time-consuming drudgery.

    I already know The Plan is a lie. A complete and utter lie. The real plan is that I will be thrown under the bus. This will happen often and with extreme prejudice. I predict that in three months the person I am today will no longer exist. I’m sure documenting the experience will be a new lively feature on my blog.

    So the return to work today after a three-day weekend has a bit of extra significance to me. Hopefully I won’t die in a big ball of fire while driving to work because I got in an accident because I was crying while driving.

    • livingdilbert June 1, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

      Oh my God..that sounds like the worst fricking plan I ever heard. Not surprising though by the way you’ve described them. I’m worried about you!!! Please keep me posted, ok? Dear God…I’m already shaking my head and cussing about it!!!! (for you)

  7. perpetuallypeeved June 1, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Oh yes, LD. Today is a cheeseburger and french frie for lunch day. A drown your sorrows in grease and red meat kind of day. Is it noon yet?????

    • notesfromrumbleycottage June 1, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

      Forget the grease fix, you are going to need an alcohol fix.

      • livingdilbert June 1, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

        Taking your advice, Rumbley. Got some nice wine on the way home…and cookies….and chips….and ice cream.

  8. Pop June 1, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    The day after 3-day weekends is always tough. Thankfully, another holiday is about a month away!

  9. cooper June 1, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    i do believe it starred Bob Hope and Tuesday Weld…how’s that for smarmy casting…

  10. izziedarling June 1, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    LD, sharing anxiety vibe. Don’t be scared of colonoscopy – the worst part is drinking that sludge (they tell you to drink enough for a Sumo wrestler but don’t!). The drugs are divine and you will be a happy girl for hours afterwards.

  11. breaaire June 1, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Having a Monday on a Tuesday sucks rocks. Sorry.

  12. shoutabyss June 1, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    What kind of wine? And that sounds like one heck of a dinner! FTW!

    • livingdilbert June 1, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

      J.W. Morris Riesling…cheap ($4.59) and delicious. It was a pretty good dinner! Just what the doctor ordered. What are some comfort items that help you? You are going to need a LOT in the next 8 weeks.

      • shoutabyss June 1, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

        Mmm. Riesling. I’ll try some soon in your memory. I’m currently exploring Pinot Noir since I was thinking about the movie “Sideways” recently. Of course that also means no Merlot! 🙂

        More often than not when I need to blow off steam I’ll just go for a shot or two of tequila. But I never knock ’em back or snort. I’m not a hardcore drinker so I merely sip.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something new on the WordPress bar « Shouts from the Abyss - June 1, 2010

    […] posts, reblog, toolbar, wordpress. Leave a Comment So there I was this morning, surfing the Living Dilbert blog and minding my own business. I […]

  2. If It’s Tuesday, It Must Be…. (via Living Dilbert) « Shouts from the Abyss - June 1, 2010

    […] Hell, I wish I could say the answer was "Belgium" but…afraid not.   Does anyone remember that old movie?  I'm afraid it is back to the damn grind…with Bad Boss.  It seems like I've been gone forever and technically I only took two days off to see Big Brother!  I fully expect him to say, "How was your vacation?" and I will clearly point out that it was only two days off…NOT a real vacation!  To say I'm dreading Tuesday would be a bit of an u … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

