Reasons Saturdays Rule

5 Jun

Do we really even need any reasons?   I think not!  However, for fun…let me just throw out a few – 

  • Saturday is a weekend/rest/non-work day in most countries.
  • Saturday is the official day of rest in Israel, on which all government offices and most businesses, including some public transportation, are closed.
  • Saturday morning is a notable television time block aimed at children while airing generally animated cartoons. (ha…my favorite!)
  • It is common for clubs, bars and restaurants to be open later on Saturday night than on other nights.
  • In folklore, Saturday was the preferred day to hunt vampires, because on that day they were restricted to their coffins. It was also believed in the Balkans that someone born on Saturday could see a vampire when it was otherwise invisible, and that such people were particularly apt to become vampire hunters.  Accordingly, in this context, people born on Saturday were specially designated as sabbatianoí in Greek. 
  • A large majority of football league games are played in the UK on a Saturday.
  • In Amherst, Nova Scotia, the Holiday ‘Good Saturday’ is celebrated by everybody giving a cake to each other.
  • …and unlike Sunday in the South, you can still buy alcohol on Saturday!!! (I added this one for free.)

Thanks to Wikipedia for this great info!  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saturday)

I was just thinking, Bad Boss is a blood-sucker and I only see him Monday – Friday.  Perhaps Saturday would be a good day to search for him in his coffin and drive a stake through his heart.

Tomorrow – Finding Saturday on Sunday

11 Responses to “Reasons Saturdays Rule”

  1. Ody Granados June 5, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    The most important reason? SATURDAY MORNING CARTOONS!

  2. Ody Granados June 5, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    I’m a dork. Didn’t read the whole post..d’oh!

    • livingdilbert June 5, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

      Ody, I’m just thrilled to know we think alike! I’m in good company.

  3. shoutabyss June 5, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Looks like the mood indicator doesn’t indicate Saturday status yet. 🙂

    And thanks for bringing back painful memories. When I was younger I loaned my Bay City Rollers “Saturday Night” 45 rpm single. When it was returned it looked like it had been attacked with a steak knife. The jerk had deliberately gouged that sucker. Everyone’s a critic I guess. 🙂

  4. bookjunkie June 5, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Awww I wish I could make your blood sucker boss vanish with a poof!! Or even better….karma works… and you end up being his boss instead!!

  5. Amy June 5, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I was born on a Saturday, so if you need help vanquishing your blood-sucker I would be happy to offer my services!
    Yeah, you gotta stock up on your booze on Saturday in the South then make sure you don’t dig too deep into your stash or else Sunday evening will suck hard.

  6. slightlyignorant June 5, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    “Saturday is the official day of rest in Israel, on which all government offices and most businesses, including some public transportation, are closed.” See, this sounds awesome, but it sucks, really. I mean, it’s Saturday! I want to be able to go out to cafes on Saturdays! It’s the one actual day of the weekend here [yes, we have ONE DAY WEEKENDS.] Stupid religious people making the stupid country be mostly stupidly closed on stupid Saturdays…

    ANYWAY – Saturday is indeed great for lots of other reasons!!!

  7. The Orifice June 6, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    I love Saturday so much. Sunday is a downer though. The thought of going back to The Orifice and all.

    • shoutabyss June 6, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      I agree. Sunday is when you start to feel like you are in a Stephen King novel. Fog rolls in and it’s game over man. Due to that I only really ever get half a weekend.

  8. Office1 June 8, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Nice visual on the bad boss vampire hunting day!

  9. Bitten by Reality June 10, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Don’t forget your garlic!

Leave a Reply

