Finding Saturday on Sunday

6 Jun

Shit.  I have tried so hard, but I am failing miserably this weekend.  I put it in my mind that I’d enjoy the weekend all the way up until about midnight on Sunday (technically the start of Monday) and I just can’t DO it this time!  I’m with Orifice who commented that Sundays are a bummer with the dread of Monday looming over our heads.  Today I tried to sleep as late as possible, but this nagging idea of Monday kept making me have nightmares. 

Now I’m trying to appease myself by watching horror movies on SyFy.  It’s not working either.  Perhaps it is because I face a much scarier monster Monday – Friday.  Hell, bring on the ugliest two-headed, brain-eating, skull crushing, liver-sucking, devil-possessed, Children of the Corn, crazed evil-inducing monster children.  They all pale in comparison to Bad Boss.  All this monster crap is making me bored.  Thoughts of Monday back at the Hellhole?  That’s scary has hell.

Tomorrow – Is it Monday Already?

10 Responses to “Finding Saturday on Sunday”

  1. dcbarry June 6, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    If you watch enough of those kind of movies, you know that at some point some character or mysterious inner voice says to our hero/heroine: “Get out now!!!” Well?

    Sure there’s the financial toll, the uncertainty of the job market, etc., etc. But better that than having your spleen sucked out by hellfiends. Unless you’re into that. I’m not judging, but I’m just sayin… 🙂

    • livingdilbert June 6, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

      I think you hit the nail on the head, DC, “spleen sucked out by hellfiends” – HELLFIENDS…perfect! I don’t particularly like it and variate between sadness and unmitigated rage.

  2. shoutabyss June 6, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    I have long lamented Sunday, which should be a beautiful work-free day, as the final day before Monday. As such it doesn’t exactly get the props it truly deserves.

    Friday afternoon at quitting time until Friday night bedtime is what I call the “golden hours.” They are the most untainted and precious hours of the week. Come Saturday morning the inexorable crawl back to work has begun…

    • livingdilbert June 6, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      You are so, so right…it is those precious hours from when one leaves on Friday until Saturday morning that are the best. I truly think I’m your kindred spirit.

  3. bookjunkie June 6, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I feel so sorry for you!! cos I’ve been there and all I wanted to do was cry!!!…often I did. LD….hope it give you a bit of consolation, you have a lot of people who have your back.

    • livingdilbert June 6, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      It does help me feel better…thank you. I AM looking….

  4. notesfromrumbleycottage June 6, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Maybe this sounds hokey but we do something fun as a family on Sundays. Each family member takes a turn choosing the menu and cooking. This means I have to clear off the table of its normal rubble and help in the kitchen. I force younger ones into choosing a menu ahead of time. There is always an alcoholic beverage so I can at least go to bed happy and in a deep slumber. And it takes away the pain of Monday creeping in like a bad boyfriend until Monday morning.

  5. perpetuallypeeved June 7, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    @dcbarry is right. Getting out is the only cure. Now that I don’t work in the seventh layer of hell anymore, I didn’t even think about the fact that yesterday was Sunday. Maybe a nice long lunch spent on Indeed.com?

  6. slightlyignorant June 7, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Okay, so here’s what you should do. Big Boss is like one of those monsters under the bed, right? Now, monsters under the bed exist for kids because they really believe they’re there. But if you convince them that they’re NOT there, by showing them over and over the empty space under the bed, maybe they’ll start believing that there’s no monster, right?
    So what if you, and me and all your readers will help, will actively DISBELIEVE in Big Boss. If conceptual-reality has any sort of cred, then maybe Big Boss will just STOP EXISTING. I, for one, am willing to try.

    Maybe we can try to really disbelieve in Mondays, too…

  7. alchiketi June 8, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    lots of booze stocked up from saturday helps, Tudors helps.

    i can’t watch scary movies cause i dream about them. but doesn’t the creature…whatever it is…always have devious ways of attacking? is there anything to learn and implement in the office setting, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

