Is It Monday Already?

7 Jun

Ugh.  Happy Monday, sweet people.  I’ve found a few things to comfort myself even though it is the most dreaded day of the week.

Reasons I Can Live With This Monday:

1 – I plan to call in sick one day this week and it delights me to no end.   I giggle with glee just thinking about it.

2 – I didn’t get arrested this weekend, a black eye, a flat tire, get food poisoining or punch anyone in the head…I’d say that’s reason enought to celebrate right there.

3 – I will “borrow” a power surge protector this week. I know where several are that are unused (and never will be) and since we are losing 1/2 our space and won’t even have any spare electrical outlets now…I realized I need one at home.  I hate waste and I consider it a form of recycling.

4 – I’m going back my “low-carb” healthy way of eating.  I’ve had fun the last two weeks eating a lot of crap, but for now…it makes me feel like crap – inside and out.  Damn, I have Bad Bosses to make me feel like crap, I sure don’t need to add to it myself.

5 – We are one morning closer to Friday!   Enough said.

What helps bring you some smidgen of comfort on a Monday?

Tomorrow – I Think Bad Boss is in the Running for “Single White Female”

14 Responses to “Is It Monday Already?”

  1. shoutabyss June 7, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I think you can be shot for using the phrase “Happy Monday.”

    I like the mood indicator, as always. It’s perfect.

    #1 – I never call in sick. I actually considered doing it today. But I won’t.

    #2 – I avoided all of that stuff as well. Life couldn’t be any better. My boss, however, recently got a seat belt ticket which brought me an amazing amount of joy. He even regaled me with his B.S. attempt to get out of the ticket and how it failed. It just doesn’t get any better than that! 🙂

    #3 – It’s amazing the depths of “justification” that can be caused by a Bad Boss. Personally I recycled a spare mouse and it came in handy when my current one died.

    #4 – Yeah for eating right.

    #5 – Personally I feel that optimism is misplaced. Friday is nothing to write home about. It is just one more piece of the circle of life that always leads to Monday.

    Comfort on a Monday? I seriously can’t think of a darn thing. I often find myself in tears as I make that final turn in the car and I’m a block away from my place of employment. I’m simply beside myself.

    Have a good week!

  2. Amy June 7, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Free coffee is always a plus (and it’s actually good).
    Catching up on blog/email reading that I neglected over the weekend is nice, too.
    My work-week will end on Tuesday this week, so that’s making this Monday much more bareable!

  3. thoughtsappear June 7, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Hurray for calling in sick! Anything to make the work week shorter is always exciting.

    Chocolate makes my Mondays more tolerable, but that may not fit with your low-carb diet.

  4. julie June 7, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    I appreciate that you’re already planning to call in sick. When I had a Bad Boss I used to like to keep a list of go-to excuses that were just believable enough that she would be too embarrassed to question them, like having diarrhea.

    At least you’re the boss of Monday.

  5. alchiketi June 7, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    this monday is so lovely because i’m home with my girl, dog and cat.

    Usually my mondays are tolerable because Psycho-Bitch Coworker With a Tuba Up Her Ass takes mondays as her furlough days.

  6. Mouse June 7, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Well, this week, we are one Boss less, because Boss A is on vacation all week.

    Other than that, it’ll be a typical Monday in a typical week.

    Yay, ‘one morning closer to Friday’! I can relate!

  7. cooper June 7, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    what gets me through monday?

    breathing helps…

  8. Katie June 7, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    My 20 minute drive took 45 minutes today – thank you, construction. My office opens at 8, but nobody is ever on time (830 the earliest) except for me, of course. I called my boss anyway to let her know I’d be late. I was STILL the first person here. Hello, Monday.

    Also, the workplace diet is killing me. How low-carb do you go, and do you follow any other sort of plan? Help! I’ve resorted to a mini kit kat a day here. 😛 On top of FAR too many carbs.

  9. Brea June 7, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    What gets me through Mondays? Having blogs to read!

    I don’t get time on most weekends to visit the computer at my house. The children set up an obstacle course in the room, guaranteed to end up turning me in circles and headed the other direction.

    I don’t smoke anymore, so I take my breaks in the blogosphere… and you’re always one of my first stops! Thank you!

    • shoutabyss June 7, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

      Good answer! Reading blogs is one thing I look forward to on Mondays. 🙂

  10. Ody June 7, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Webcomics! And LD, of course 🙂 Some of my favorites, besides Dilbert, of course, is xkcd.com, questionalblecontent.net, thisisindexed.com, sinfest.net, geekculture.com, pvponline.com and penny-arcade.com. Different styles (Dinosaur Comics rocks, too) so there is something for everyone on that list.

  11. Ora June 7, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    What helps bring you some smidgen of comfort on a Monday?

    Hah! I work tomorrow and have 3 whole days off. In retail things like weekends, holidays, and vacations don’t exist.

  12. bookjunkie June 8, 2010 at 2:12 am #

    Can’t wait to hear about what you did with your well deserved sick day. It’s legitimate because you’re officially sick and tired of them.

  13. Amy June 8, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    #5, for sure! also, knowing that Mondays are generally not good-vibe days around here…so I will not be the only one suffering!

Leave a Reply

