Masters of the Universe

14 Jun

One of the toughest things in my day is mentally dealing with the fact that Bad Bosses think they are Masters of the Universe.   It makes me want to pull my hair out…better yet, pull their hair out.

Bad Bosses know everything.   Apparently, they not only went to law school, but they also have degrees in medicine, engineering, MBAs in business, economics, sociology, political science, journalism, biology, zoology, chemistry, pyschology and possibly even theater. I try to look at it like a patient therapist….with compassion, but it is too hard.   I am only human and can only ingest so much poo in one day.

What is that old expression?   “Jack of all trades, master of none.”?  It is these guys!  Life-Saving Therapist told me it is ok to be furious…as long as I don’t let it consume me.  Oh, you KNOW I am furious.  Why?  Because they sit on their asses and pontificate all day long about how they know best and they do nothing.  Is this some kind of mental illness?  What should we call it?  “Head Up Your Ass Syndrome,” “My Shit Doesn’t Stink Sickness,” “I’m Better Than You Because I Must Have a Trust Fund Disease,” “I Secretly Hate Myself  So I’ll Make Everyone Around Me Miserable Disorder”?  

Tomorrow – My Life as a Funeral Director

Side Note – Thank you for all the great weekend comments…they made me smile!!!   I’ll have to report back on which ones I took you up on….

13 Responses to “Masters of the Universe”

  1. bookjunkie June 14, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    boy am i glad I subscribed to your blog LD 🙂 ….I love forwarding your posts to my partner…what he was upset about today you covered so well in your post. I think he can totally relate!

    • livingdilbert June 15, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

      Thank you! I hope it helps him just a little!! (at least makes him smile!)

  2. cooper June 14, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    sounds like they are not worth you spending any of your energy on them….

    …unless, of course, it’s to hose them down with the butter flavored grease they put on popcorn at the movies…

  3. Pop June 14, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Wow. That butthead picture just made me snort.

    • livingdilbert June 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      I was afraid it was “too much” but so glad it got you to laugh. God, the pictures I saw…I usually come up with an idea of a good picture in my head and then go to the search engines. You can imagine.

      • Pop June 15, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

        What you have seen cannot be unseen. Thanks for taking one for the LD team.

  4. Brea June 14, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    They spend all day on Wikipedia, don’t they? Hasn’t anyone told them yet that Wiki doesn’t have all the answers? *snort*

    BTW, found a picture of the BadBosses…

    http://www.geeksaresexy.net/2009/10/26/when-geeks-have-twins-pic/

  5. shoutabyss June 14, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    I find the subject line of this post ironic since my boss indeed does have a masters … in psychology! And yes, that makes him as much of a pain in that ass as you might think.

    • livingdilbert June 15, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

      Oh my god…I can’t imagine. Uck…does he try to use psycho babble on you sometimes?

      • shoutabyss June 15, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

        He uses it as a control mechanism, of course. Not just the typical “you do what I say” form of control found in “Me Boss, you employee” relationship. I can clinically watch him in action. It is pretty disgusting to see. Of course I do everything I can to proactively to be aware and resist any head shrinking he might be trying to use on me.

  6. Belle June 14, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    LD, I’ve been on vacation and missed your posts! I enjoyed being unplugged for the best part of 10 days. Oh, that we could all enjoy such freedom! You go, and get the hell out of Hell. BTW, the reason BBs are what they are is because they live in a parallel universe called Denial, but can unfortunately pop into and out of our universe with ease. Denial used to be a state, but the population has exploded there and the state has become a galaxy – spiraling into a black hole!

    Can’t wait for you to tell BBs, “AMF!” 🙂

    • livingdilbert June 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      I hope you had a fabulous vacation…I know you needed it!

  7. Bitten by Reality June 17, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    Perfect application for one of my favorite terms: “Rectal Myopia”

Leave a Reply

