Living Dilbert’s Vices

18 Jun

1 – Wine or cheap beer  (whichever is the best buy, cash discount is a bonus)

2 -Sleeping pills (thank God for pharmaceuticals)

3-Crosswords (yes, they relax my mind)

4-Warm kittens (rescues are the best)

5-A full plethora of obscenities on my tongue (or in my mind ready to be spouted)

6-Carbs (the more sugar, the better)

7-Bad television (meaning any reality show with people whose lives are clearly worse than mine)

8-Carbs (repeated for effect)

9-Voodoo dolls (I have four at home – you can guess for who)

10-Your blogs (they keep me laughing…thank you)

Just a few of the things that help me get through the day without committing murder or my own demise!  I could go on and on and they’d worsen as I go, but I’ll save them for a Part II.  Do I sound like a bitter old lady?   I’m not! (old, that is…)

Tomorrow – Can You Say Vacation???  (changed from earlier topic…)

16 Responses to “Living Dilbert’s Vices”

  1. shoutabyss June 18, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    I’ve never had a sleeping pill. Something tells me I would like them, if they really work as advertised. I’m up early right now for two reasons. First I awakened from a bad dream a few minutes ago, my heard pounding in my chest. The guy I hate had me in his van and had just plunged us off a cliff. The van hit, exploded in fire, and I was thinking, “So this is what that feels like,” when I woke up. Then, as a laid there trying desperately to go back to sleep, a cat kept swiping at and scratching my leg. With a sleeping pill would I still be safely snuggled in my bed?

    Point by point, other than the sleeping pills, your list could easily be mine. I might steal borrow the concept for my blog. Thanks in advance! 🙂

  2. Office1 June 18, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Suggestion: Combine your love of reading and bad television…purchase People, OK or Star magazine.

    All the fun of reality TV without the noise or commercials.

  3. shutterboo June 18, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    LD, I would love to split a dozen Krispy Kreme and a coffee with you. I think we’d have some laughs. And works on that carb thing at the same time.

    • Pop June 18, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      Second. And 1/2 dozen is safe. I once at a dozen on a bet and I terrible jitters which was followed by the crash to end all crashes.

  4. MB June 18, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    We all need a vice and those of us who have to work with lawyers need more than others.

    I had an interesting experience on the job front. You can read all about it at http://finallyfiguringitout.blogspot.com/2010/06/golden-handcuffs.html

    Bastards!

    I hope you enjoy your two days of freedom. Only 8 hours and 9 minutes to go ….

  5. cooper June 18, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    ok…so i’m not going to tell you that i’m a baker by hobby….

  6. bookjunkie June 18, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    carbs and more carbs to drown my sorrows in front of the tv. I used to have a journal which was the equivalent of poking pins into a voodoo doll! frozen maragaritas are good too 🙂

  7. DC Barry June 18, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Sounds like the lyrics to a much needed remix of Julie Andrews “These are a few of my favorite things….”

    “…Bad carbs and Chardonnay, and fuzzy rescued kittens;
    voodoo dolls and sleeping pills and really foul mouthed phrases….”

    We can work on this…

    Dave

  8. thoughtsappear June 18, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Now I want a voodoo doll…and a warm kitten.

  9. eatingthrough June 18, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Now how can warm kittens be considered a vice? Unless you’re eating them, of course… But seriously, my favorite on your list is the carb/comfort food (unless it’s kittens) – as long as you sit and savor and really get some comfort from it. Eclairs, ice cream, pizza… I know they don’t really fix whatever the problem might be, but they will likely buy you some time and take the edge off while you figure out what the real fix is.

  10. Ody June 18, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    As a boss, I have a ninja doll to protect me against voodoo dolls from my employees. http://twitpic.com/1f390n

  11. Jenna June 18, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    I love crossword puzzles too. I have rules though, 1. Do not talk to me when I’m doing a crossword puzzle, 2. Don’t try and help me finish a crossword puzzle and 3. Don’t you dare fill in an answer when I’m gone.

    Star magazine = filthy trash tabloid that is so good and mind numbing with an actual crossword puzzle in the back (next to the celeb crossword)

    IDk if you like white wine, but my fav – Sea Glass, a Sauvignon Blanc

  12. izziedarling June 18, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    We would be twins if I had voodoo dolls. They scare me in a karmic way.

  13. kmslat June 18, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    i’ll join in the krispy kreme fun. i know of the last remaining mega krispy kreme in town. i’ll buy a dozen glazed and a dozen mixed bag doughnuts. and i’ll just let you and shutterboo joke and i’ll enjoy the banter.

  14. slightlyignorant June 19, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I hope your voodoo dolls work, even if the effect is delayed a bit!
    I have to say I completely agree about both the kittens and the obscenities.

    Today’s Saturday! Hope you have a good weekend :D.

  15. bookjunkie June 20, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Wow I can’t wait to hear all about your sweet vacation…yipeee!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

