Things Discovered at the Beach

24 Jun

Today I was able to sit on the beach for about three hours with Main Squeeze and it was fascinating.  

Did you all know there is a whole other world out there outside of work?  Why didn’t anyone TELL me?!  I get so wrapped up in dealing with the dipshits…that I forget there is a big, beautiful, amazing world out there.  Just listening to the waves and breathing in the sea air….better than anything else in a long time.   I did make some realizations.

– Some dads, not all of them, remind me of Bad Boss.  They just sit there in their chair and the sweet wife does all the work with their kids….and she never gets to sit down or get any rest.  Shouldn’t it be a team effort?

– People with beautifully sculpted bodies really are pretty amazing.  I’m not talking about the kind of bodies that are enhanced with fake stuff either.  Just the people that work hard and treat their bodies quite well.  It is not something you see super often…at least not where I am.  I always dreamed that would be me walking down the beach…but, it isn’t.  So, I admire the ones that are stunning – men, women, whoever. 

– PAY the extra money to rent the beach chairs and umbrella…totally worth it.  You ARE on vacation, you know.

– Tiny children do not seem to mind eating sand.

-Swimming and jumping in the waves is still fun.  Finding nasty-ass seaweed clumps inside your bathing suit later is not.

– There is nothing like the feeling of a cool shower after a long, hot day at the beach.  If only all things in life were so easily solved.  

Tomorrow – When It Rains, We Pour

14 Responses to “Things Discovered at the Beach”

  1. Pop June 24, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    “Some dads, not all of them, remind me of Bad Boss.”
    Agreed. But like Bad Boss, most of them either don’t realize there is a problem or they think the world revolves around them.

    “People with beautifully sculpted bodies really are pretty amazing.”
    It’s hard to sculpt a body in a cubicle.

    “Tiny children do not seem to mind eating sand.”
    I can’t imagine it being too pleasant to poop either…

    “Finding nasty-ass seaweed clumps inside your bathing suit later is not.”
    Things Pop says in the shower after the beach: “How the heck did sand get in there?!?!?!”

  2. thoughtsappear June 24, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    I think the children are practicing for when they’re old enough to eat sand-wiches. Ooooh. Sorry. It’s too early in the morning for a pun.

  3. perpetuallypeeved June 24, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Do you think babies look at cubicle dwellers and think: “Apparently, adults do not mind eating shit.”??

  4. notesfromrumbleycottage June 24, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I am wishing I was with you, sharing a pitcher of some fantastic alcoholic drink!

  5. bookjunkie June 24, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    hahaha i remember sitting by the shore and letting the waves wash over me for hours….but later it was such a pain to get all the fine sand off me.

    that baby is so freakin’ cute!! 🙂

  6. cooper June 24, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    all terrifically pointed observations…

    don’t leave them there, bring them back as a BB Defense Shield

  7. Office1 June 24, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Enjoy that beach LD…refuel and re-energize!

  8. Brea June 24, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Ahhh, feel the zen.

  9. alchiketi June 24, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    ” PAY the extra money to rent the beach chairs and umbrella…totally worth it. You ARE on vacation, you know.” – totally with ya because trying to get sand out from various crevices is not fun.

  10. Jeff308M1 June 24, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    “People with beautifully sculpted bodies really are pretty amazing. I’m not talking about the kind of bodies that are enhanced with fake stuff either. Just the people that work hard and treat their bodies quite well. ”

    Genetics also play a role. I am not saying that it is impossible to be in good shape with bad genes – it is just harder than it is for those genetically blessed.

  11. frigginloon June 24, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

    Shark attacks Living Dilbert, you forgot friggin shark attacks. Oh and how could I forget oil soaked pelicans 🙂

  12. slightlyignorant June 25, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Kids could LIVE on sand, I swear… I know I thought I could when I was a wee tot.

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying your vacation :).

  13. The Orifice June 28, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    I discovered something at the beach once too. A condom, draped over my foot.

Leave a Reply

