Reporting from the Front Lines….

28 Jun

I’ll be DAMNED..it is not as bad as I thought!   What a welcome surprise!   We are allegedly still open, no one died and I still do not feel like killing anyone today.   My biggest annoyance is probably Useless Coworker with whom I already have a love/hate relationship.  

Useless Coworker does not use her head – ever.   She casually tells me her access card hasn’t been working for a week, so she helped herself to the spare one in my desk and she let two of the high-speed printers run out of toner.   She couldn’t change the toner on anything if her life depended on it.  I’m already convinced she lives in a fantasy world where things just refill themselves.   I wonder how many times her car has run out of gas in her lifetime? 

So, Bad Boss is painfully quiet.   At least I have the fact that he was on vacation too going for me.   He’s grumpy that he had to return also.   He even communicated logically with me today.   Can I hope, even if just for a little while, that he realized my importance while he was on vacation?   Ok, you are right….

Tomorrow – Useless Coworker Strikes Again!

9 Responses to “Reporting from the Front Lines….”

  1. shoutabyss June 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Welcome back!

    Refusal to learn things, like changing the toner, is a proactive work avoidance technique. It works remarkably well.

    Since people like you and me don’t normally resort to such measures, we’re generally the ones who end up screwed.

    Seize the day!

  2. eatingthrough June 28, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    I had a co-worker once who wondered aloud where all the little bits of paper in the three-hole punch went, since it was always empty and clean for her. “Little men come at night and dump it out”, I told her. “They use the little round bits for money.”

    “Really?” she gasped. I just had to walk away.

  3. Belle June 28, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Welcome back! Cheer up! BB will recover too quickly. They always do!

  4. Ody Granados June 28, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    This reminded me of your useless co-worker. Didn’t know if you’d seen it on my blog but holy shit I have watched it over and over again and am STILL cracking up! It’s the immaturity manifesting itself.

    WARNING! NSFW!

  5. slightlyignorant June 28, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Hey, maybe all Bad Boss needed was a little sunshine and a margarita or two to get some sense into his stupid head! Then again, maybe not… But at least it’s not going bad so far!

    Useless Coworker sounds as if she at least produces amusement, even if it’s of the frustrating, bang-head-against-wall kind.

  6. alchiketi June 28, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    ah! you’re back. my chest already feels lighter!

  7. The Orifice June 28, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    OK. It seems like someone divided by zero when you were on holidays and you are now stuck in an ideal world.

    My useless coworked asked why the fax wasnt working (i know, we still fax here). For the decade ive been here, as well as her, you dont put a leading zero on the front of the number. She swore she wasnt doing so. When I went over to observe she was. “Oh leading means before the number…”

    How many faxes havent gone through?

  8. Grimaud50 June 29, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    Wow! Sounds like lots of have have the same brand of clueless coworker (including me)! I actually work with a pretty great bunch of people, but I often find things that need emptying/refilling.

    Let this be a lesson to all of us, we should have pretended WE didn’t know how to change the toner cartridge! Dang..

Leave a Reply

