My Boss is Chicken Little

12 Jul

I’m expecting to hear, “The sky is falling, the sky is falling!” any second now.   Bad Boss’ are running to and fro with their diapers on, waving their rattles and carrying on about our “move.”  Our move?  I want to scream, “We are not moving…we are losing 1/2 our space because you tried to play hardball with the building on rent!”   As Office Administrator…have I been included on anything?  Of course not!  It’d make too much sense.  Thank God, I mentally prepared myself for the brewing shit storm this morning.   One thing about working for lawyers is that you must learn to anticipate an upcoming diaper change and I’m a master.   I can smell a poopy diaper a mile off.  

Since Bad Bosses ploy didn’t work to lessen our rent, guess who has to come in tomorrow at 5:30 A.M.?  Yep, Living Dilbert will be getting her ass up way early tomorrow.   The only reason I don’t have steam coming out of my ears is that I will plan to leave early as well.   Bad Boss suddenly can’t come in to meet the cabling guy to move our entire server room tomorrow…so, here I’ll be.   I’ve coordinated everything in 10 minutes that it took them months to pontificate about – no wonder we have no business.   They are all talk and no “DO”…well, except for the DOO DOO they slosh on a daily basis.

All this will be good for my resume.   I decided to turn down the last interviewer…did I tell you?   WAY too conservative and the more I talked to the folks, the more I realized I’d be jumping from the frying pan into the fire.  I’ll have to tell you the story about a question they asked me in my interview….and they are a labor and employment firm!!  Tsk tsk.   At least I know how to handle things here and not have a stroke (yet)…plus, they are so fun to write about for now.  Stay tuned!

Tomorrow – Questions NOT to Ask in an Interview

5 Responses to “My Boss is Chicken Little”

  1. bookjunkie July 12, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I can’t wait to hear about your interview. I have had tons of bad interviews and now I have been so sickened by them I stopped applying. I know I should start again but……

  2. shoutabyss July 12, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I’m sorry you have to come in early to change diapers. I hope your plan to leave on time actually pans out. Opening the door for the networking guy sounds like an easy task. Then you can get paid for drinking coffee and playing solitaire.

    I’m hard pressed to remember an employment interview where I wasn’t asked illegal questions. It’s so nice to start a new working relationship off on the right foot. By that I mean, of course, the foot placed squarely on your neck. It lets you know your place even before you’ve officially been hired. That helps avoid painful surprises later on.

    The company/employee relationship is already skewed drastically in favor of the company, and that is further exacerbated by the fact that companies won’t even follow what watered-down laws that remain and far too often get completely away with it because they have the power. It’s hard to stand up for your rights when that means you’ll be homeless and not able to have food.

  3. Brooke July 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    The mood indicator today is fantastic. I feel like that gal. And I’m on my third cup of coffee. Jazz hands will likely be in abundance come 2pm. yeehaw.

  4. marketingtomilk July 12, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    I laughed out loud at this post. Superb.

    http://marketingtomilk.wordpress.com

  5. cooper July 12, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    I think the worst interview nightmare I’ve ever heard was when a MAJOR (still in business) kitchen/bathroom fixture company asked Mrs. Coopernicus to sign a form stating she would not get pregnant for five years….

Leave a Reply

