Questions Not to Ask in an Interview

13 Jul

In a recent interview with a labor and employment firm, I was taken aback by how extremely conservative they were!   I had a to sign all types of crap and I was just interviewing!   Being excited with the thought of getting out of here, it took me a while for the whole process to sink in and to realize I sure as HELL do not want to work there…so, I took my name out of the hat.    What helped turn me off?

– Do you play a musical instrument?   WHAT?   I said..uh…no, why? and they said, “Well, you look “artsy” and I bet you hang out at so and so (well-known ecclectic area in my big city).   She proceeded to say, “Well, with your hair and your little black glasses…”  WHAT?   What’s up with my hair?   because it is short?   I have CUTE glasses.   People, I’m not an alien from Mars….my hair is currently short and stylish and I have glasses.  SO?   Oh, I get it..they want the old-fashioned legal secretary type.   Maybe if my hair was in

What's the problem?!

a bun and I had little reading glasses and sensible shoes they would have liked that better?   I could never relax there and the guy I would have worked for sounded far more needy than Bad Boss.  Dick heads….good luck to them!

Sweet Cooper commented yesterday that his wife was asked to sign an agreement stating that she would not get pregnant for five years.  WHAT?   Is that legal??  What are some crazy things you’ve been asked in an interview?

Oh, it looks like tomorrow is the day I’m coming in at 5;30 in the morning to assist with the move of our server.  What the hell time will I get up?? 

Tomorrow – More Classic Signs of Work Burnout

17 Responses to “Questions Not to Ask in an Interview”

  1. eatingthrough July 13, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    “How are you with neurotic people?”
    I was asked this in an interview. It should have been a red flag, but I took it as a challenge (it was my first job; I was still naive (stupid)). “Well, my Dad is neurotic and I’ve been living with him my whole life!”, was my reply. I got the job. Hoorah?

  2. Sank July 13, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I always liked the old “if you were a tree.. what kind would be?”
    The new trend in interviewing.. “Tell me about a time when you xxx”. Then you’re supposed to related a story that demonstrates the secret dimension they’re looking for.

    Tell me about a time you felt frustration in the workplace and what did you do to resolve your feelings.

    I once killed a man.

  3. Brea July 13, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    My last BadBoss kept me in the interview room (a cluttered, overcrowded, ok, Hoarders-Anonymous bound office) for 3 1/2 hours, telling me about previous bad employees and their habits, current employees and some of their private information, and then proceeded to ask me “What religion are you?”

    She qualified the question (rolling eyes) by saying that 90% of the people in the office were Catholic, and she was just wondering how the percentage would change. Yeah right. I told her I was raised Lutheran, as I had decided to let the prospective co-workers get to know me and how weird I am just as myself, before I told them that I’m Pagan.

    To this day, the other women tell me noone ever broke my interview-time record.

  4. Cre July 13, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    I just discovered your blog today and it is outstanding! I can’t wait to take some time and read through your many posts/stories. You’re able to use humor so well to get through horrific workplace issues. Hilarious!

    Join us over at eBossWatch (on FB, Twitter, or the website: ebosswatch.com) if you have not yet. We think a lot alike! I also love the look of your page and your use of images. Still laughing! Your Mood Indicator is a riot unto itself!

    If you Tweet, please be sure to join eBossWatch’s bad_bosses account. That is the one I am currently helping with.

  5. shoutabyss July 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    My friend the police sketch artist is busy using the clues you’ve provided to come up with a composite sketch of you. I must say, pretty hot so far. 🙂

    I once interviewed at a company that was named using a word right from the Bible. Not surprisingly it was a very religious place. Everyone who worked there was religious and they took pride in that. I was an atheist but they didn’t know it. They tried like hell to skirt the letter of the law and get me to reveal my personal beliefs during the interview, and they tried to be circumspect about it but I knew exactly what they were doing. “How would it make you feel working in a very religious office?” they asked. Without hesitation I replied, “Oh, I have absolutely no problem with that.” Mwuhahahaha! Give away nothing, I say!

    This firm also made me take a personality test. Pretty standard Myers-Briggs personality stuff that I’ve seen dozens of times. I already knew that I’m INTJ and could have told them if they simply asked. 🙂 They color coded the various personality types and apparently I was the right color for a I.T. position. 🙂

  6. notesfromrumbleycottage July 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    What a bunch of jerks to assume you like to hang out in the eclectic section of the city. Good call not going for that job. I hope something better comes down the road.

  7. Belle July 13, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I’d almost forgotten how irritating and ignorant some of those questions are. When I was younger, the question was usually, “what kind of child care arrangements do you have…?” which was usually a follow-up to, “so, do you have any family in the area?”

  8. Leslie July 13, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Questions I’ve been asked:

    1. “Are you religious?” “What church do you go to?”

    2. “You have nipples, don’t you?” (Okay, so the man said “dimples” but I was 18 and I was nervous because the job was in this man’s house so I heard wrong). I almost passed out.

    3. “Is there a color you don’t like?” (red) “Why don’t you like red? Did someone wearing that color hurt you in some way?”

    Sadly I took the #2 and #3 jobs because I was desperate! #2 is the one that asked me to smell the armpits of his suits to see if they needed to be drycleaned. I never actually sniffed and I always said “Yes”. #3 is the therapist/mediator I only worked for for 5 months because I could not take her cuckooness! She had a “special” way of watering her plants. Micro/Cuckoo Manager.

    • Brooke July 15, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      WTF – someone asked you to smell their smelly clothes to determine if they needed washing?!?!? What an ASS!

  9. Brooke July 13, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    “How are you with situations where the client may yell at you?” Um… I’m not. If I maintain a professional demeanor, I expect the client to reciprocate. Too much to ask for apparently.

  10. tryityoumightlikeit July 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Maybe they were looking for someone to play guitar in their office band. They needed someone who would give them “artsy” cred.

  11. Office1 July 13, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    My faves:

    1. What church do you belong to? (Uh…Would Satan be a bad answer?)

    2. Can’t your spouse get you health insurance? (She knew I was gay…idiot)

  12. cooper July 13, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    i never knew you had full sleeve tats…kewl…

  13. Tracy Dodd July 14, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    What a creative way for a leagal and employment firm to get around asking illegal questions to determine if you’re liberal or gay. RED FLAG! Very powerful taking your name out of the running. Kudos.

  14. Amy July 14, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    How old are you? Do you have any kids? Are you going to have any kids? Are you married? Do you go to church?
    Basically, every question that’s illegal to ask.

  15. Cori July 14, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    This post and the comments were more than facinating!! My friend Danielle and I were even talking about this last night on the phone! People are unbelieveable at times. Wow.

  16. Katie July 15, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    I am a lawyer. (I’m sorry, I hate it too.)

    My interviews were awful during law school.

    A) What religion are you? (Yeah, this was the guy who was late to interview me and didn’t give a #$*@.)

    B) What is your handicap if you golf, or were you just hoping that it would impress us if you say you golf? (All male interviewers meets female lawyer who golfs.)

    C) Would you take this job if it were offered to you? (This was a standard question asked during a job interview with the state government – WTH?!)

    Sadly, most law interviews I’ve had where I know I will get the job have been the ones where there are no questions, and just a lot of ‘Here are all the cases I have ever won. I’m awesome, but I swear not cocky.’ followed by an hour or two of them talking and me politely nodding my head and pretending to care.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

