More Classic Signs of Work Burnout

14 Jul

We all have them…unless you are one of the lucky few that adores your job.  If so, you probably aren’t reading this blog.  

1 – The words “redrum, redrum, redrum” echo through your head several times a day.

2 – The mere thought of climbing out of bed to head to work is so nauseatingly unappealing that you lie there an extra 30 minutes to try to come up with ways to skip work altogether.

3 – When anyone tells you anything in the office….you have to bite your lip to keep from saying, “You know what?  I really don’t give a fu**”  and that is pretty much how you feel about everything.

4 – You envision punching your Useless Coworker in the face at least once (or a 100) a day.

5 – When arriving in the mornings, you really want to say, “Holy sh**!  We are still open?  I’ll be damned!”

6 – You giggle with the thought of cramming a peanut butter and jelly sandwich into the tape slot where you’ve been making sure the server backs up each day because no one else can remember to do it.   I take that back, that’d be a waste of a damn good sandwich.

7 – You want to ask all your Bad Bosses and Useless Coworker, “Are you this stupid at home too?!”

8 – To pass the time, you start signing up for every piece of junk mail known to man to be sent to Bad Boss/Useless Coworkers’ houses.

9 – You want to say to Bad Boss, “Remember when you opened this firm and you actually believed you were going to be successful?  (laugh uproariously and wipe away tears for effect)  Gosh, those were the days, huh, you silly bastard?”  and then slap him as hard as you possibly can on the back and go sit at your desk.

10 – You giggle uncontrollably to yourself with the thought of any one of 1-9 listed above.

Yep, I’ve got it bad.

Tomorrow – My Life as a Garbage Collector

12 Responses to “More Classic Signs of Work Burnout”

  1. tryityoumightlikeit July 14, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I adore my job and I still read your blog. 🙂
    You are funny and a great writer.

  2. Office1 July 14, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    You know it’s time to leave when you’re driving to work and your phone rings from the office…and your chest immediately seizes up with anxiety.

    Yep…been there…done that.

  3. perpetuallypeeved July 14, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    I love my job and read too. Love your blog! I especially like items #3 and #6. But, now I really want a PB&J! 😉

  4. cooper July 14, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    I might combine #6 and #9 – slapping BB with a PBJ…here agin, though, it is a waste of great sandwich…maybe liverwurst on a stale kaiser roll would be more appropriate..

  5. Brea July 14, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    *hmphmphmp* (laughing and trying not to do it out loud at the office)

    I love my job. I read your blog everyday. I think we’ve all had moments at our “loved” jobs that make us want to slap someone with a PB&J, or cram a stapler in their server. You have a twisted sense of humor, an amazing gift with words, and just enough sanity/insanity ratio to pull it all off!

    I love your blog. All of the above ~somedays~ please!

  6. Amy July 14, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    “Are you this stupid at home too?!”
    Can I get this on a t-shirt, please!!

  7. shoutabyss July 14, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    I don’t have much to add today, except: Did you know redrum spelled backwards in murder?

    I keed, I keed. 🙂

    Your posts are so entertaining. I find them a great way to start the day. So energizing. Keep up the good work.

  8. Katie July 15, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    “When anyone tells you anything in the office….you have to bite your lip to keep from saying, “You know what? I really don’t give a fu**” and that is pretty much how you feel about everything.”

    Uhh… My thoughts EXACTLY today about everything. At least I have one coworker who I can tell this to and I just cringe at the other one and bite my tongue. 😛

  9. IntrigueMe July 15, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Oh my God, you are so funny. I absolutely love my current job (most days) but I have DEFINITELY had jobs where I felt exactly like you do! So when the heck are you going to get out of there? I can’t imagine it’s making you overly perky about the rest of your life! lol

  10. Ody July 15, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Holy crap, this is funny as $#@%! I loved #’s 4,5,8 and 9 particularly. Now, #6 hits too close to home. (We bought tape carousels so it’s automated)

  11. slightlyignorant July 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    “8 – To pass the time, you start signing up for every piece of junk mail known to man to be sent to Bad Boss/Useless Coworkers’ houses.”
    This is sheer brilliance. I do hope you honestly do that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Classic Signs of Work Burnout (via Living Dilbert) « Life As I Know It - July 15, 2010

    […] More Classic Signs of Work Burnout (via Living Dilbert) July 15, 2010 Ody Leave a comment Go to comments OK, truly one LAST one – I hope your co-workers aren’t this disgruntled. I hope they’re gruntled. I subscribe to this blog and she is HYSTERICAL. Here’s a perfect example of what I’m talking about… We all have them…unless you are one of the lucky few that adores your job.  If so, you probably aren’t reading this blog.   1 – The words “redrum, redrum, redrum” echo through your head several times a day. 2 – The mere thought of climbing out of bed to head to work is so nauseatingly unappealing that you lie there an extra 30 minutes to try to come up with ways to skip work altogether. 3 – When anyone tells you anything in the office….you ha … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

