My Life as a Garbage Collector

15 Jul

What little work I have here at Has Been, Never Was & Has Been LLP makes me feel like nothing more than a garbage collector at times….and I mean no offense to garbage collectors!   IF only I had the same benefits as a city or county employee.   How does Living Dilbert’s life parallel?

Bad Boss likes to clean out his office from time to time and has me empty his bins for him.  When I’m extra fortunate, I get the building to bring up a giant 40 gallon rubbish bin for him to fill up with a bunch of useless crap he’s had me print for him over the previous several months.  When he’s done…he wheels it a mere inch outside of his office or better yet, parks it right in front of my cubicle and tells me to “take care of it.”   Why don’t YOU take care of it, you overblown jackass??  I can’t tell you how many boxes I’ve lifted for him either….he is younger than me.   I feel a back injury coming on…swear.  Oh, that’s right…we have no short or long-term disability here.  We have squat.

I feel that all I do is recycle the same old things over and over…paper in, paper out.   Sodas in, garbage out.  It reminds me of how I used to try here…really try.  Once upon a time I got really good ideas in my head on ways to save money for the firm or make a difference with a positive impact regarding our bottom line, but Bad Boss would cruelly ball up my ideas like an old dirty piece of toilet paper and toss them aside.  After a while, you just don’t even try anymore.  

Tomorrow – Fabulous Friday

4 Responses to “My Life as a Garbage Collector”

  1. Cori July 15, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Today’s mood indicator says it all! You find the most wonderfully descriptive pictures for this section.

  2. Office1 July 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Oh LD…I feel for you. Here’s another way your job is like a garbage collector…

    When the things other people do begin to stink up the place…it becomes your responsibility to do something about it.

    Ugh..you should toss bad boss in a salt mine in Nevada like so much nuclear waste.

  3. shoutabyss July 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    A long time ago I learned not to offer suggestions. No one likes dealing with that kind of repeated rejection. I found a brick wall to beat my head against instead. It was infinitely more satisfying.

    Perhaps your office could be equipped with little basketball hoops over the bins? At least then the printouts would serve some useful function.

  4. cooper July 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Maybe you have a contact with the city where you could arrange to have garbage delivered????

Leave a Reply

