Fabulous Friday

16 Jul

We effing made it!  We made it to another Friday!  These days are becoming the most precious gems in my life.  I wait for them by the minutes slowing ticking by….and this week has seemed extra long.   Flashback, once upon a time I’d get a little sad on Fridays because it meant two days away from work…this was at old Big Firm.  Can you believe it?   I loved the people there and it felt like leaving family for two days….my God.   I sure have fallen far from THAT tree, haven’t I?    Now, Monday through Thursday, I go hobbling through the offices like a one-eyed, sputtering pirate cursing under my breath…spitting at anyone with a particularly acidic venom that dares to approach me with yet another stupid question.  

I used to crave my coworkers, I used to volunteer to be on committees, I used to actually seek out ways to help!!!….now, I despise my current coworkers because I’m stuck with an extra worthless, uncaring, self-centered set of know it all dickhead lawyers and of course, Useless Coworker.   I’m drowning in a big pile of smelly poo that doesn’t even have the good sense to flush itself down the loo.  Is God testing me?   Am I passing?   I keep wondering.

8 Responses to “Fabulous Friday”

  1. Office1 July 16, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    LD…time for an FAC…Friday Afternoon Club. Margaritas, friends, two blissful non-work days ahead…DO IT!

  2. Ody July 16, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    You’re more than passing, as you can tell from the responses on this blog.

    To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived.

    This is to have succeeded.

  3. cooper July 16, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    time to weigh anchor and sail to new, calmer, non-polluted waters….

  4. Jill July 16, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Amen Sister!! Let’s all have a drink to Fridays!! *clink clink glug glug* 🙂

  5. shoutabyss July 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    There was a time where you were sad about Fridays? Erm. I’m not exactly sure how to take that! Unless your job was being dipped naked in chocolate while frolicking with 72 virgins and simultaneously playing World of Warcraft in an underground vault with no windows, I can’t for the life of me imagine what the hell you were thinking. 🙂

    Ahoy, scallywag. I really like the way the word “poo” surfaces so many times on your blog.

    I don’t much care for Fridays. It is the one weekday that is closest to Monday and that hurts. It’s a reminder that the week is cyclical and no matter how many times we get there, we’ll always be back here again. Ouchies.

  6. bookjunkie July 16, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Oh my gosh….I was exactly the same way at my first 2 jobs..it was like going from heaven to hell. I never took any sick days and felt sad when the weekend approached. we are so much more motivated when we work with good people who in the end become our friends…..i know where you’re coming from LD. Sometimes it makes me wonder is it the change in times…in generations? So many people I know used to have better work environments in the past. but then again it might just be our plain old bad luck to end up with asses for bosses and coworkers..heheheh!

  7. The Idiot Speaketh July 16, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Glad you survived yet another week…. I sure hope you play the lottery. It would be great for you to win so that you would not need that job and then you could march in and just unload on everybody! I would pay to watch that!

  8. izziedarling July 17, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    You are the Bright Spot in a sinkhole – Save Yourself!

Leave a Reply

