Poking Fun….

23 Jul

Sorry, I’ve been MIA and I’ve missed you.  

I made a big realization this week…well, I’ve had it before, but this week was the clencher.   One thing I seem to have inherited from my Dad is a sense of humor.  Thank GOD!  When things get tough, I resort to humor and finding ways to make fun of whatever God-awful situation in which I find myself.   I remember once when sweet Dad was having a major surgery in the hospital and things were really BAD, there we were….making fun of it.  I’ll never forget that day…I consider it a gift.

Long story short, and not so funny…I found two breast lumps a couple weeks ago.  Living Dilbert has been down this road before and I was pretty sure they were cysts.  A mammogram, two ultrasounds and $900 later…there I was being faced with a needle that reminded me of the Seattle Space Needle headed towards me with a small crowd in the room and me flat on my back with everyone touching my left tit.   You know, the doctors call it a “fine needle aspiration” – fine, my ass!   Good news, is that all is FINE.  I have a very sore boob, but am extremely thankful that it is over and done with and that I am one of the lucky ones.

Do you think Bad Boss cared?  NO.  Do I still need to get used to that?  YES.   I have no “colleagues” here.  No family.  Main Squeeze made a wonderful point this morning.  YOU are my colleagues….you, my blogging friends.  Thank you.  Have a told you what a wonderful job you are doing?   You are.  You are fantastic and you all deserve a big raise and bonus. 

Tomorrow – Saturday Already?!

 

28 Responses to “Poking Fun….”

  1. Ody Granados July 23, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Get better LD. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. $900? Tell your f*cking bosses to get a better health plan.

  2. Brea July 23, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Humor is one of my favorite ways to deal. If I can laugh, then maybe I won’t run screaming through the streets.

    Glad everything turned out ok. I just wish that prostate exams involved needles, too. That would be a fair pay-back for BadBoss, I believe, hmm? Maybe we could talk to his Gyno and work something out.

  3. Danielle July 23, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    thank goodness you received a clean bill of health. It still doesnt take away the stress, pain, and $$$$ but for my own selfishness I have missed you. I think we should all ban together and think of creative ways to f with “bad bosses” and useless coworker. I could call and pretend to be a client? And how right “main squeeze” is we are your collegues and you are our “awesome boss”!!!

    Happy Friday!!! And I hope you have a bunch of wine tonite.

  4. Amy July 23, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Great to have you back and in good health! Going to send this post to my boss so I’m sure to get my big raise. Thanks!

  5. Jill July 23, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    So glad everything (medically) turned out okay!!! That’s some scary stuff right there.

    I also feel like my blog readers are my posse. They’re the only ones who truly get me, ya know? I don’t have any work buddies or office comrades that I can (or want to) confide in, so it’s just me and the blogosphere. Thank goodness, or else I would have huge therapy bills! 🙂

    But hey it’s Friday so it’s all good!!

  6. shoutabyss July 23, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    I feel like I know you even better now; I’ve been on the Space Needle! 🙂

    I’m sorry about the unimaginable pain that must have been, which is something I’ll never experience because when faced with the same scenario I’ll simply demand to be put to sleep. I don’t have as much guts as you.

    But I’m absolutely thrilled to hear it came back benign. I say you take the rest of the day off and start your weekend early! 🙂

    I think the best dads do have a sense of humor. I have a lot of my dad in me.

    As far as your “colleagues” are concerned, they didn’t choose you. We did!

  7. notesfromrumbleycottage July 23, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    If your fear of needles is at the level of my fear of needles, I know this was rough. But, like everyone else, I am so glad it wasn’t something worse than just being there. I know what you need – Cookies!

    And some mixed drink that requires ice cream.

  8. Brooke July 23, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    You know what will make that boob better? A back rub. Hop on that, Main Squeeze!

  9. Belle July 23, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    LD, you know us Steel Magnolias – laughter through tears is how we cope.

    Bless your heart! I’ve had that damn needle, and I can assure you – if that were a procedure a man had to endure, there’d damn well be a much better way to get it done. Hey, try imagining BB having one. In whatever place gives you the most laughs!

  10. alchiketi July 23, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    i missed ya yesterday!

  11. bookjunkie July 23, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I feel very touched by this post. I can relate to you in so many ways. When you shared about your dad being jovial while he was in hospital…sounds so much like mine as well.

    You definitely feel like one of my sweetest, wittiest colleagues.

    I would have been terrified of that needle too….Hope you feel better soon

    Hugs from the equator 🙂

  12. Jenni Engledow July 23, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    I’m sorry you had to go through that and I’m really glad to hear that all is good with you!

    I’ve known two people this past year diagnosed with breast cancer and it’s a rough road.

    I do believe that a healthy sense of humor can really help in tough situations and it’s good you have one 🙂

  13. Pop July 23, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Good to have you back, LD! Sore boob and all!

  14. Lenore Diane July 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Humor is a wonderful thing. My siblings and I gathered around the table when my Dad was sick. It started off as a bunch of blubbering idiots, but soon we started talking about the worst stories ever, trying to top each other’s worst story. Blubbering idiots soon turned into laughing idiots. (Sometimes you can’t cure ‘idiot’.)
    Glad to hear the results are clear. Sha’woo.

  15. gigi July 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Glad you’re okay.

  16. cooper July 23, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    i think you got gypped. You should go back and demand that they make your other boob sore as well. I mean come on…fair’s fair.

    Kick back this weekend and take a breather….

  17. Jeff308M1 July 23, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Welcome back and wish I had been able to be there for you and for HED.

    I am very glad you are feeling better today.

  18. Barb July 23, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Glad to hear you are going to be fine– that must have been pretty scary.

  19. eatingthrough July 23, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    thanks for sharing a personal bit about yourself, sorry you had to go through that but very glad things are fine. Big Bosses suck.

  20. sparrow1969 July 23, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Hey there….I’m glad to hear that your tests came back with good news!

    Just remember, what goes around comes around. Big Boss will get his one day!

  21. jfn2nd July 24, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    Sorry about the sore boob… but, glad all else is FINE.

  22. marketingtomilk July 24, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    You’re right, a sense of humour is a gift. I’m glad it got you through the last few weeks, and that everything is okay.

    M2M x

  23. izziedarling July 24, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Great News, LD. Was worried, girl. Know that needle myself and it hurts like a mother. Feeling your pain. And joy that it was what it was. Maybe some Orajel to numb the sore chesticle? Have a wonderful weekend and I’m glad you’re back. 🙂

  24. Pkitass July 24, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Glad to know that in the end all you have a sore boobie and nothing else.

  25. Cori July 26, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I am catching up on LD and was shocked to read this email, but SO relieved for you to have gotten good news. Medical stuff is NEVER fun, so I believe that using humor is the only way to get through it. Your Pop was obviously a wise and wonderful man and you are carrying his legacy on.

    xoxo

  26. thoughtsappear July 26, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Deceiving title alert! That needle doesn’t not sound fun at all. My arm instinctively flew to my chest when I read that. Ouch!

  27. pandainabattlesuit July 26, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    SO glad all is well. yes, you are one of my very esteemed colleagues. I consider myself an employee of both Health and lawfirms thanks to your very very readable blog.

  28. MB July 28, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    I’ve seen that Space Needle close up and it is scary as hell. I’m glad all is well and your walking away with just a very sore boob. You’re the one that deserves the raise and a big fat bonus. I think it’s called Combat Pay. Take care.

Leave a Reply

