Lessons Learned from Moving

16 Aug

You know what I learned helps the most with a big moving day?  MOVERS.   Mine never showed.  Thankfully, I hadn’t paid any kind of deposit, but I sure was disappointed.   You were right – still better than Bad Boss things I have to do each week.  Two vans and one very good friend later, we got it done yesterday.   Have you ever been so tired that you start seeing things out of the corner of your eyes?  It’s happening.    Moms out there….I salute you even more.  I don’t know how you do it – with no sleep and working full-time.  

On an extra good note, Bad Boss is out til Weds.  He couldn’t have picked a better time!   If he was here today…well, well….one of us would go home crying before the end of the day. 

I’ll try to get some sleep tonight because even I miss Living Dilbert!!   I’m too tired for sass!

 

16 Responses to “Lessons Learned from Moving”

  1. alcotsirk August 16, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Strangely enough no matter who it is that’s moving, there is always some monkey wrench thrown in someplace. I have yet to hear even a rumor of a perfect world in some bizarre dimension with a long history of things working out fine.

    Reasons why friends with trucks are great to have in your contacts list (or one you can bribe that can also drive yours).

  2. Office1 August 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Oh LD…count yourself lucky. The “cheapo” movers I went with tried to lollygag around (because they were paid by the hour). When I scooched ’em on out the door and denied them much of a tip because I was ready to scream…they stole four tiny little pieces without which my bed could not stand. OMG. I had to meet the worthless dude at a gas station after threatening to rain holy hell on him if he didn’t give me the parts back.

    Yeah..there are worse things than no show movers. Glad you got it done. Can’t wait to hear more stories.

  3. Brooke August 16, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Well, at least you’re out and it’s one thing to mark off your list. Nothing says you have to unpack this week… I still have boxes unopened and I’ve been moved for three years. I’m also what you call lazy but that can easily be overlooked.

  4. notesfromrumbleycottage August 16, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Moving accomplishes at least one thing, the knowledge of what things you need to get rid of. Good luck with your unpacking.

  5. The Ignorant Bystander August 16, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Being that tired is not fun. It’s also not fun to be that tired and drive home. Now, I don’t think I’m capable of falling asleep at the wheel, but I do see shadowy figures dart in front of the car on occasion. Little black cats and raccoons, all black horses and three-legged people. I’m not too fearful of falling asleep, but having a grill filled with splattered imaginary shadow beasts.

  6. Brea August 16, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Ah! Glad you got moved! Now, have that glass of wine No, I don’t care if you’re at work, you deserve it now! Where’s that hip-flask I told you to carry? You’ve had Kool-Aid in it long enough for the others in your office to think you’re just swilling sugar water again when you whip out the GOOD STUFF!

  7. shoutabyss August 16, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    One time when moving from one state to another I had hired a moving truck. I had specified that we wanted FOUR movers on both ends of the trip for loading and unloading the truck. You see, I had devised a clever schedule based on my calculations of what four movers could accomplish and our volume of stuff.

    The moving truck actually arrived on time but with only TWO movers. That was disappointing. So instead of sticking to the schedule me and my whole family had to chip in and work our asses off and then ended up only about six hours late. It sucked.

    Unloading was a bit easier (still only two people) and we counted ourselves lucky that only a small amount of our stuff was destroyed.

    I’m glad the move is over. I usually finally get over the act of moving about when the time comes to move again, so enjoy! 🙂

  8. Aimee August 16, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    You know, I have a van AND a truck that were sitting empty at my house yesterday. I’m SHOCKED you didn’t call. I’m the kind of friend that would actually show up. Although you would have had to spring for Pizza and Beer.

  9. Pkitass August 16, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Moving sucks the big one. I feel for you sweetie! I have moved around a couple of times. Plus I was lucky enough to move the office when our current building was bought. Not fun at all and till this day we are still discovering things that got stolen during the big move and that was 8 years ago!

  10. redriverpak August 16, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Did the jerk movers ever call after the fact? Congrats on the move, enjoy the time with the idiot boss out of the office!

  11. Jenni Engledow August 16, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Moving a family of 5 sucks because you have so much stuff that you didn’t know you had or needed! We even pre-moved some stuff the night before the “big” move because we had so much stuff.

    After this last move (9 years ago), I vowed NEVER to move again. My last move will be to the old folks home.

  12. Heart of Gold August 17, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Wow- I am so sorry to hear that the lame ass movers couldn’t bother to show up but I am glad you are in. Congrats to you and Main Squeeze!!! You are such a wonderful couple and I wish you both a lifetime of happiness together under one roof. 🙂

    If it is not too Pollyanna for me to say, since they didn’t show up at least you know that nothing was stolen!

  13. izziedarling August 17, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Rest, LD. Glad you are in your new home with MS 🙂

  14. cooper August 17, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Energize yourself…go dump a glass of ice water on useless co-worker…

  15. thoughtsappear August 17, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Jerks….

Leave a Reply

