Look’s Like We Made It…

3 Sep

We fricking made it to Friday!!!  Plus, it’s a 3-dayer !   Hot damn!   How has your week been?  

Today I’m trying not to be an angry, hateful troll.  Why would I ever be angry?   BECAUSE, once again, I find myself the only staff person in the office.   Why are we even open?   All I’m going to do today is stare off into space.  Only Bad Boss #2 is here and he’s already watching videos on his computer.  I can hear the laugh track from here!   Since I’ve been awful about blogging this week…let’s just catch you up on some highlights:

1 – I had two interviews at the same law firm and I’m praying like mad that I can get this job.  I’m afraid to even mention it in case I jinx it.  It would be an amazing opportunity with lawyers that actually care about their practice and the firm and the employees.  Trust me, I spent about 4 hours there….I could tell they cared.   It was like being a small child at Walt Disney World.  I had to stifle my screams of excitement.   During the last part of meeting the attorneys, I strongly considered offering a bribe for the position…but, realized I have nothing of financial value to offer.  They’ll just have to settle for me and I leave it up to the universe (and maybe several bouts of praying and chanting this weekend).  

2 – Had my annual gyno and it was a doozy.  Nothing like being embarrassed to death in the first place.  My lady gyno brought in a guest doctor too – hell, the more the merrier!   I was still trying not to die on the table when she said, “We have to do a uterine biopsy right now.”  WHAT?  I’ve had two of those people and I’ve always, always had either pain meds or a valium first!   Oh no!!!   Well, I hope they didn’t mind that I screamed “sh**” and “fu**” during the procedure….and I did apologize, but it was better than punching them in the face, right?   Hopefully, all will be fine…they just want to prove I’m 45 from the inside I guess.   In three weeks I have the joy of another appointment…with a new instrument of torture…ultrasound from the inside!  I’ve had the before too….I told them, “Gee, it’s a $600 embarrassing, violating test and I don’t even get dinner and a movie first!”  

Can you tell I’ve just decided to tell you all pretty much everything?  Why not, we are all friends here!   Plus, I have to try to make rough moments funny.  I hope it is working.

Ok, back to staring into space.    Do we have any business this week?  No.  Did we get any payments this week?  No. 

What are your plans this weekend?

25 Responses to “Look’s Like We Made It…”

  1. Wally September 3, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    LD! You are too funny!! Hope you have a nice weekend!!!

  2. eatingthrough September 3, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Interior ultrasounds suck. When I had one the lady kept pointing at the screen and saying: “so this is your such and such and here is your so and so”, like I’d paid for the two-cent tour of my uterus. Sorry you’ve got to endure that. Meanwhile, weekend plans entail spending all my time with a very tall man and eating everything in sight. Fingers crossed for you and the new job!

  3. Brea September 3, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Oh, the joys of the interior-decorating show, complete with closed-captioning for the mentally unprepared.

    I haven’t had the interior ultrasound, but I’ve been through the joys of the other dread-colonoscopy. *shudder* never again, Madam, never again.

    HEY! To end on a much better note – congrats on the interviews! *crossing fingers, eyes and toes*

  4. LachyTV September 3, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    I don’t understand how you can keep getting paid if they are making no money…..

  5. tryityoumightlikeit September 3, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Those days in the office when everyone else is gone are my favorite days.

    Sending good thoughts on the new job and the yucky doctor visits. Sometimes humor is the only way to handle things.

  6. shoutabyss September 3, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Umm, yeah. About that three-day weekend. We’re going to need you to go ahead and come in on Saturday, k? Oh, and I almost forgot. We’re going to need you to come in on Sunday and Monday, too. We’ve got a lot of catching up to do. That’d be great. Umm, yeah. Thanks. (My homage to Lundberg from the movie Office Space. Please make my life complete and tell me you’ve seen that movie.)

    Three-day weekend, what the hell is that? Our boss made it a point to visit each and every one of us this week and go way out of his way to reinforce that yes-indeedy-doo, we will be open on Monday. That is the suck since my wife gets the day off.

    As you can see, my young apprentice, your friends have failed. Now witness the firepower of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL battle station company!

    • Heary of Gold September 3, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      This is a terrific movie and I started laughing right away when I read your comment. Thanks for the laugh!

  7. Pkitass September 3, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Congrats on your interview! Tiki tiki and I are cheering for you! have an awsome long weekend.

  8. Jenni Engledow September 3, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Congratulations on the interviews – I really hope this opportunity is yours. When will you find out?

  9. harlsmits September 3, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Good luck on your interviews! I hope you get it! Guess what I am doing this weekend? SLEEPING!! Hurray!

  10. notesfromrumbleycottage September 3, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Well, lets hope the good and the bad both have positive results. I cannot imagine what that law firm must have looked like.

  11. yellowcat September 3, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    Only people with insurance get tortured from the inside out. Sometimes it pays to be poor.

  12. Brooke September 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    I’ve got my fingers crossed, LD. But I gotta brag – mine’s a 4-day weekend. I say that I’ve traveled and sweated more today that I have any other day this week. Just because I ain’t in the office don’t mean I ain’t bustin’ my buns. And tomorrow: college football. *sigh* GO CARDS!!!

  13. Belle September 3, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    LD, I hear you 5 by 5 and I feel your pain on all levels! Enjoy your weekend away from the pit, and think nothing but GOOD ENERGY thoughts. Remember the Law or Attraction! Oh, and sleep as much as you can!

  14. katie o. September 3, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    yowza. that sounds awful! but the possible new gig sounds freaking fantastic! got my fingers crossed for you. have a work-free, stressless weekend!

  15. The Idiot Speaketh September 3, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    Keeping fingers crossed that you can get this new job….. keeping legs crossed…even though I am a guy….after reading about the other highlight of your day…. 🙂

  16. Heary of Gold September 3, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I am thinking good thoughts and sending good energy- if this is the best job for you I am sure you will get it. They would be damn lucky to have you!! Sorry you had to endure the medical poking and prodding. I hope you will have a restful and lovely weekend dear LD!!

  17. bookjunkie September 4, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    I loathe gynae appointments….feel so violated after…love your witty take on it!

    Yup we’re definitely all friends here and I’m praying hard to get the ‘disney’ job

  18. bookjunkie September 4, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    sorry typo:

    I loathe gynae appointments….feel so violated after…love your witty take on it!

    Yup we’re definitely all friends here and I’m praying hard you get the ‘disney’ law firm job

  19. alcotsirk September 4, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    I have always seen three day weekends as a double bonus. Not only do you get an extra day off, but your also being gifted with a week that’s one day shorter.

    Now to return to my sinister workshop and wip up another piece of wallpaper art.

  20. IntrigueMe September 5, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Good luck with the job, I hope you get it!
    And, about the gyno… ugh. Being a woman is seriously rough sometimes.

  21. cooper September 7, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    If they break out a turkey baster…run….

    and that goes for the gyno as well….

  22. thedrunxter September 7, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    instead of punching them in the face, like you had originally intended, a kick in the face would be much easier

  23. bookjunkie September 8, 2010 at 3:30 am #

    Hope you’re having an amazing 3 day weekend. Weirdly for us in Singapore labour day was on 1st May.

  24. plonkk September 12, 2010 at 6:21 am #

    oww the gyneo visit!

Leave a Reply

