OMG!!!

29 Sep

So, you know they called me back for a third interview.  I was so excited I almost peed in my pants.   The meeting went well and I didn’t even get sick or splotchy…a good sign!  My hopes were dashed, however, when the main partner said they had others to interview and it may be a while.  CRAP!  I had my resignation planned with exact precision!   Didn’t they know that I was on a tight time schedule?  I need Friday off to go see Big Brother!  Bad Boss would never give me the day off…so, I was going to now have to feign a terrible illness…oooohhh, the pressure.   I tried to remain calm and talk myself down from the ledge….

I dragged myself back to Horrid Law Firm, with my head hanging low and sat at my desk with the best fake smile I could muster.   THEN…it happened.   My cell phone rang and I recognized the number.   I got up from my desk and raced to the storage closet!   On the other end of the line, I heard the sweetest words I’ve ever heard, “Living Dilbert, is that you?  The partners really enjoyed getting to know you more and WE’D LIKE TO OFFER YOU THE JOB!!”  After regaining the use of my speaking abilities….I happily accepted!  IT HAS HAPPENED !!!   I GOT THE JOB!!!

Today is going to be a Bad Day for Bad Boss….resignation will follow in early afternoon….stay tuned!!!

50 Responses to “OMG!!!”

  1. Pop September 29, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    So exciting LD!

  2. writerdood September 29, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    Awesome news!
    But, with the end of Bad Boss, will you still be inspired to blog about bad bosses? Maybe you will find another Bad Boss, or at least a Irritating Colleague! Maybe his name will be Richard.

  3. bookjunkie September 29, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    I am so so so happy for you LD. If anyone deserves this happiness you do 🙂 I am smiling as I type this!!! yippeeeeeeeeee 🙂 Can’t wait till your fire your crappy boss.

  4. McFly September 29, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    Now you’ve got to think about your “exit strategy”. Going out with a bang?

  5. Office1 September 29, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    WOOOO HOOOOO!!!!! LD please please please keep copious notes of your “giving notice” speech. I want the exact transcript verbatim. I can’t wait to hear how all those idiot BBs take it!!!!!!!

  6. Lachlan September 29, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    OMG! I’m so happy for you all that work paid off after all I guess Savour the sweet sweet taste of quitting and I really do hope that the grass is truly greener on the other side 🙂

  7. alchiketi September 29, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    YIPPY!! YIPPY!! YA !! YA!!!
    crack open that beer and slide down the emergency slide LD!! Punch the bad boss(es) and pull the rug from under useless on your way out!
    I’m so excited for you!!

  8. Brooke September 29, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    WOOT! I’m doing cartwheels for you, LD!!

  9. Cubicle Diarist September 29, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Congrats!!

  10. perpetuallypeeved September 29, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    I am so freaking happy for you. Please, please, please share the 50 “I quit” scenarios that had to have gone through your head last night. 🙂

  11. Pkitass September 29, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Congrats!

  12. Amy September 29, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Doing my happy dance for you!! Congratulations!
    I am on the edge of my seat waiting to hear the details of your final day at that hell-hole.

  13. Brea September 29, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    WEE-HAA! Woot! YAAY! *frenzied happy dancing*

    Can’t wait for the big finale! (Where’d my popcorn go?)

  14. thoughtsappear September 29, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Oh my god, oh my god, OH MY GOD! I’m so excited for you! I’m going to check your blog every 5 minutes for the resignation post.

  15. izziedarling September 29, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy! Soooooo happy for you! 🙂

  16. Danielle September 29, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    SO f-ing Awesome LD!!! Congrats! and you better cut and paste your resignation letter and let us see it. Also, since I myself am a huge pussy and consider you to be a hero………….Please tell them off or at least say something to useless or the new one. Or mention the farting to bad boss 3? Please, please, I live for hearing about how someone has socked it to the man!!

  17. Kimi September 29, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Congratulations! OMG! I’m really happy for you. It was worth all the venting on your blog, huh? : ) Does this mean you will change your blog to something else? Hope not. Love the title and please keep us posted on how things go with your new position. Again, congrats, chica!

  18. Chick Fil-A Girl September 29, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    So, so happy for you! Congratulations!

  19. Lenore Diane September 29, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Congrats to you! Here’s to you and your newest endeavor, Living Dilbert!

  20. Wally September 29, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Best Friend and her Main Squeeze (moi) are very proud of you and happy for you!!!!!!

  21. C. September 29, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Can’t wait to hear how it goes. I hope BB grovels and begs for you to stay, and you get to callously decline!

  22. tryityoumightlikeit September 29, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Yay for you!!! Congratulations! I’m not worried that you’ll run out of people to write about. There are so many incompetent people in this world. Can’t wait to read your next post.

  23. Miss Kris September 29, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Wonderful news! Congratulations LD!! If only you could capture Bad Boss’s reaction on film… =)

  24. Jenni Engledow September 29, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    Congratulations! I’m very excited for you and your new adventure. Can’t wait to read all about it.

  25. Belle September 29, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Time to part the seas and head for greener pastures. SO happy for you!! Cannot wait to hear BB’s reaction. Hopefully, people out on the street won’t be able to hear it, but then again…..

    Congratulations!

  26. Marliz3e September 29, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Amazing!! Congratz LD! =]

  27. Jill September 29, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!!!!! I am super excited for you!!!

    Oh please make your resignation as horrible as possible for BB!! 🙂

  28. Main Squeeze September 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Well deserved — I am thrilled that you will be going somehwere that appreciates what a true gem you are! Lets celebrate…vacation…dinner…flowers…dancing…I am up for it all with you!

    • Cori September 29, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

      Well deserved indeed! My love to you both and a HUGE congrats LD! Yippee!!!!

      Now bring on the stories… can’t wait to hear how it goes. Actually I can not wait for him to make his own calls for his home utilities, meals, etc.

  29. gigi September 29, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Yeah for you!!

  30. notesfromrumbleycottage September 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    I just want to grab your hands and do the happy dance/jump for joy while screaming ‘Hallelujah.’ I am sooo happy and sooo excited for you. Congrats. Congrats! Congrats! Can’t wait to hear how the three bad bosses will take this!

  31. sparrow1969 September 29, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Whooo! Congratulations!

    I can’t wait to hear what the Bad Bosses have to say in reaction. I hope they implode.

    Good for you!!

  32. Single Condo Lady September 29, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Woo hoo!!!!!!!!!!!! Congratulations!

  33. MB September 29, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    OMG! That’s so exciting. I’m so happy you’re getting out of that hell hole. Enjoy every second of satisfaction you get when you tell Bad Boss where he can shove it. YAY!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about your victory resignation and your new office.

  34. Confessions Of A Dizzy Blonde September 29, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS 🙂 I’m so happy for you!

  35. bookjunkie September 30, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    My partner who follows your blog (it’s his fave) was so excited about your new job too…he’s now waiting like me, for the most exciting segment 🙂 when you tell bad boss to shove it

  36. shoutabyss September 30, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Congratulations!

    I hope that you having a good job won’t mean that we’ve heard the last of you, though. That would make me sad.

    Either way, best wishes and good luck!

    I look forward to reading the post about how the bad bosses take the news of your eminent departure.

  37. harlsmits September 30, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    HURRAY!!!!! I can’t wait to read about your resignation!! You have to give us all the details!

  38. katie o. September 30, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Oh.
    My.
    God!
    I think I just got chills reading that. So freaking happy for you. Will be toasting to your success tonight.
    And yes, do what Peeves says.
    Give em all to us!

  39. cooper September 30, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    never had a doubt….

    enjoy the resignation….are you going to use a super-soaker???

  40. IntrigueMe September 30, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Congratulations!!!

    Can’t wait to hear the update on the resignation… ha!

  41. Brea October 1, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    It’s been 2 days, did they stuff her in the supply closet so she couldn’t leave?

  42. badgerangel October 1, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    I can’t wait for the update either! I sincerely hope she gave him What-For!

  43. pbandchutney October 2, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    LD! That’s awesome!! We’re anxious to hear more man… how did Bad Boss take it?

  44. cooper October 2, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    it may be too late but i just came across this and thought you might find it useful before you depart

  45. cooper October 2, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    sorry… try it now

  46. slightlyignorant October 4, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    YESYESYES!!! Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for you and I can’t WAIT to hear all about Bad Boss’s blowup. Any chance of you catching his facial expression on camera? 😛

  47. yellowcat October 4, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Yay for you! Theres’ nothing like a new job to put life back into perspective.

Leave a Reply

