Living Dilbert Has a Crush

22 Jul

Since I’m back in the fold AND have lots of blog post ideas jotted down all over, it feels damn good to be writing again. I have this whole new life I’m living and just starting to “get.”   I’ve gone from working 12 hour days under unimaginable stress due to working for 4 attorneys at a high-end firm, then to a “team” environment that I knew would ultimately fail, but was told to zip it, in which I was working for 9 attorneys at a time.  Attorneys are not dumb (one of the things I actually love about them) and they quickly realized there were only two of us that actually genuinely gave a shit about our work and continued doing the best job we could.  For a year, it was like working in a pressure cooker and you never knew how bad it’d be.  There was many a day with lunch (if any) at my desk and I wouldn’t even pee until 5!  I literally did not have time to even think – I was a machine and a damn good one too.  Well, we know my neck finally broke down.  I’m a believer that if you are constantly under unbelievable stress, your body will find some way to let it out whether you like it or not and I wound up with four bulging discs in my neck resulting in quite a LOT of pain and nearly losing the use of my left arm.   Ok, sorry…you get it.  So, I’ve now moved to being thrilled to now be on what I like to call “a sabbatical” while I heal from not one, but two spinal neck surgeries 8 weeks apart.  We all know I’m a bad ass, but they kicked my ass!

What am I even blathering about?  Oh yes, some background of where I am now.  I’m at home these days away from that life and my ONE job is to heal. I’ve never had a job like that!  I feel a bit lost and thrilled at the same time.  I’m finally moving to the more thrilled part!   I can actually do other things like get back to my blog and read other blogs and make new friends!  I still have some great supporters and friends from my early days – Shouts from the Abyss…thank you for your support and I adore you!   Brea’s Air and Notes from a Rumbly Cottage, same to you and I promise to talk about you all!

I must say though, I’ve made an amazing new friend in this one chick – Yay! More Gray!  She’s funny and has heart!   I’m so glad we’ve met and this is my public shout out to her!   She LIKES me!  I feel the same and she’s a really cool person that I genuinely like!  I was NOT expecting to make a new friend, much less one that may be my twin that my mom never told me about.  So, as she calls it, for “Woman Crush Wednesday ” – I bow to you, Yay!   💘. Check out her blog! 

https://yaymoregray.wordpress.com

Sometimes out of some really bad shit, or if I was more Buddhist I’d say, “Even from the deepest mud, the lotus still finds the strength to bloom” or something close to that.  Just as life can turn on a dime to something really hard, it can turn on a dime to something really good too!!  Who knew?! I’m learning a lot living this special life. I’m very lucky.  I’m learning to breathe and actually take care of myself rather than pandering to the whims of several asswipes at once, who are often very unappreciative, critical people…whew.  How’d I do it all those years?  Well, again…at the end of day, I kick ass and have a strong work ethic as many of you do and you must give yourself credit!   I’ll help teach you some tricks to help.

  

I still have oodles of doozies to tell regarding corporate life crazy, don’t you worry!  There are a lot of asshat stories that i hope will make you laugh and yet will be familiar in your own life and you just have to laugh, rather than jab windpipes or kick balls (but, you can pretend!).  

Next:  “5 Signs You Know a Boss Will Get Canned (and You’re Not A Least Bit Sad About It!)”

Peace out – do something for YOU today!  Get that nice coffeemaker, have a chocolate, breathe in deeply and breathe out the bad, picture the people that love you.

LD

3 Responses to “Living Dilbert Has a Crush”

  1. shoutabyss July 22, 2015 at 11:57 am #

    I agree that your neck could have a been a focal point for stress and that sucks. I’m glad to see you excited about writing again. That’s good news. I’m going to go check out the Yah! More Gray! blog. More friends is good. 🙂

  2. YayMoreGray July 22, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

    WHAT?!?!?!? A shoutout from Living Dilbert and I’m not away scrapbooking???? OMG did I miss my 2nd trip this year?????? 🙂 (I was away scrapbooking when she liked a post, and away again when she almost made me join Angel Mom from shock and happiness by following me!!!) WOW. Thanks!!!! ❤ 🙂 SO glad you're back. This time when you describe my office/boss/coworkers to a tee please come say heyyyy since you didn't last time. 😛

  3. YayMoreGray July 22, 2015 at 2:01 pm #

    beautiful picture too!!

Leave a Reply

