The Power of a Smile

15 May

I know, I know…I was supposed to keep a Saturday theme going where I talk about superheroes!   However, this thought just jumped at me the other day and it does actually involve a super power. 

Every day, not only am I faced with my share of abnormal bad behavior, I am besieged with frowns.   Uck.  Not just any frown either, Bad Boss frowns.  Wouldn’t it be lovely if the thought actually occured to them to smile just once in a while?   Can you imagine the impact it could have on their surroundings?   I can.  They can’t.   It is a tragedy because they have everything going for them (outside of being horrid businessmen).  They have money, good health, wives that seem to love them despite their mean personalities, huge homes, multiple cars, etc.  There is a lot to smile about!  It doesn’t even cost anything and we know they are cheap!  

You know what I try to do each and every day, even when I feel pretty crappy?   I try to smile at someone.   Sounds a bit gross for Living Dilbert?   Well, underneath this sarcastic, cynical exterior…Living Dilbert still has a heart.  Plus, I have the ability to see past my miserable work life!  

Want an example?   Every day when I go downstairs in my mountain of buildings, I love to see my favorite folks and smile and say hello.   Bad Bosses would never dream of saying hello to a cleaning person or food court worker.  These wonderful human beings are my favorites!  Rich with personality and stories and kindness.  Bad Bosses don’t know what they are missing by passing these far more wealthy (in heart) people each day.  Do yourself a favor if you don’t already do this  – say “hello” to someone you do not know at all and give them a smile.   You’ll be amazed at the power it can generate.

Tomorrow – Taking Back Sunday

11 Responses to “The Power of a Smile”

  1. sethe May 15, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    I’m so with you with that one! Yep.. a smile can actually brighten up anybody’s day c”,)Keep it up! c”,)

  2. bookjunkie May 15, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    I think perpetually frowning at your employees is a form of subtle abuse. It’s such a downer and creates an environment of fear. I’ve had a nasty coworker with perpetual frown and it used to ruin my usually upbeat mood. I love people like you who are obviously wealthy at heart and deserve so much better than what you’re getting right now. I hope your day comes soon.

  3. Amy May 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    I am so with you on this! I love smiling and genuinely saying “please” and “thank you” to people who I think need it most – waiters, check-out people at the grocery, drive-thru people. You can tell they really appreciate it.
    I also love to give big smiles to all the Grumpy McGrumpersons in my office. It reallly annoys them! Makes me smile even wider.

  4. shutterboo May 15, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    I’ve gotten into the habit of complimenting one person per day. Be it someone I work with or a stranger on the street.

  5. The Idiot Speaketh May 15, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Smiles, along with “Please” and “Thank You” have all gone missing from society……at least where I live…

  6. slightlyignorant May 15, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    I totally agree. There’s something special in random kindness – it’s a sort of magical human interaction. It’s lost to many and on many, but some of us [even cynical Living Dilbert] are aware that our hearts feel just a bit bigger if we have a nice conversation with someone, if we smile at them, if we don’t ignore them.

  7. IntrigueMe May 16, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    Great post, I might try this smile a day thing.

  8. alchiketi May 17, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    such softies ya’ll are! Living Dilbert and her commentators! stop giving things …smiles.. to people who don’t deserve…especially bad bosses! we already pay/paid heftily for their incompetences everyday!

  9. Cori May 17, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    I LOVE THIS POST. You are making the world a better place by doing this.

    Also, “Rich with personality and stories and kindness. Bad Bosses don’t know what they are missing by passing these far more wealthy (in heart) people each day.” Amen sister!!!

  10. alullyhatvexy May 17, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, Satellite Direct Tv

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Working in Singapore: Things I Miss & Things I Don’t | Tiny Island - January 26, 2011

    […] 3. When Bad Bosses and Mean Coworkers don’t realise….The Power of a Smile. […]

Leave a comment