Things I’m Whole-Heartedly Sick Of

24 Aug

These are not only in general, but amazingly all pertain to Bad Boss as well! (what a surprise, huh?)  I’m sick to death of:

1 – Egos (never a good thing, always in the way, and greatly exaggerated greatness)

2 – Speaker phone conversations (shut the hell up or shut your door!)

3 – Hypocritical behavior  (tell me not to do something, then do it yourself – impressive)

4 – Fake, sucking up attitudes (does this really work for people, long-term?)

5 – People who strive to make things much harder than they ever need to be (refer back to the control issue)

6 – Total and complete lack of respect for me as a living, breathing human being  (put your trash in the can, your used toner cartridge away…not in bits on my desk…what am I your nanny or could you just not figure out how to get it back in the box because you are a total numb nuts?)

7 – Killing our environment (yet you have 3 kids – lead by example, you slob)

8 – Wasting time by repeating the same mistakes again and again and again (I have a list of these as well for your reference)

9 – A constant need for control (why don’t you control your temper, your bad attitude and a host of other things I’m happy to suggest while nicely attached to my foot up your ass?)

10 – Bad Bosses!!!!

Bad Bosses, life is too short.  We are here a mere instant in time.  Why do you have to make it so unpleasant each and every day when we are here to work for you?   People like you make me think that we will never evolve.

15 Responses to “Things I’m Whole-Heartedly Sick Of”

  1. Amy August 24, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Oh, I hear ya, girl. I hear ya.
    Love the mood indicator!

  2. thedrunxter August 24, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    bad bosses and egos, for me, means that i want to circle my head in a spinning motion like a bird and then bang my head against a refrigerator. and don’t worry, these things that you’re sick of in the corporate world also exists in the catering world

  3. shoutabyss August 24, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Still in top form I see. 🙂

    All good stuff. Hits a little close to home but I love your take on it.

    More and more I’m beginning to question the “boss paradigm” as a method of getting things done. I’m seriously wondering if society would be better off without them! 🙂

  4. cooper August 24, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    I, too, sit in my half-cube next to #2…take that as many ways as you can fathom. He forgot how to use a hand or head set and the door is certainly broken.

    what a dope.

  5. Brea August 24, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Power corrupts…. then the batteries explode, leaving a rusty, crusty, disgusting mess everywhere. And you have to buy a new robot, cause now the old one just sits there with it’s head hanging down, and rusty, crusty crud coming from it’s backside.

    Sorry, it’s been one-a them days.

  6. MB August 24, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Why stop at the top 10, I’m sure you could have come up with at least 100. I especially loathe #2. I sat outside the office of an associate who would have every conversation on speaker phone even if it was with the lawyer in the office right next to her (and he would use speaker phone too). It drove me absolutely crazy. Hang in there – only 27 minutes to go ’til 5:00.

  7. redriverpak August 24, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Again, I am so thankful that I am disabled and do not have to endure the office Hell you deal with…. 🙂

  8. Heart of Gold August 24, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Well said! The speakerphone drives me nuts too-you really can’t be bothered to hold a phone to your ear?!? Lazy ass…

  9. frolicking lady August 24, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Perhaps you might like some of those t-shirts I’ve ordered (in bulk). The ones that say, “F*CK YOU!” in big bold letters.

  10. yellowcat August 25, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    At least my a-hole customers leave after an hour. Even if I get another a-hole, it has a different face and different issues. I’d dump your bad bosses bodies down the incinerator chute in no time.

  11. harlsmits August 25, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Don’t forget micromanaging. I used to have a boss that would tell us to do something, then yell at us for not doing it right, then doing it over himself and making a mess of it in the process, and then yelling at us that we can’t do anything for ourselves and how much he hates micromanaging.

  12. Belle August 25, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    LD, the only thing that may get you through this is drinking. I used to work for one just as bad, and I started mixing wine spritzers with Sprite to get through the afternoons. Idiot never figured it out. On bad days, lunch was 2 egg rolls and 2 glasses of plum wine. Then “sprite” for the rest of the day. 🙂 Sorry, babe. I feel your pain.

  13. bookjunkie August 26, 2010 at 6:47 am #

    I hate sucking up….it’s gross!!

  14. mct88 August 31, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    oh my goodness for the life of me i cannot suck up to people. i just-how do you do it?! i’m amazed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Working in Singapore: Things I Miss & Things I Don’t | Tiny Island - January 26, 2011

    […] 1. Things I’m Whole-Heartedly Sick of […]

Leave a comment